Installation as System User with IA X12

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
anja_laenge
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:02 am

Installation as System User with IA X12

Postby anja_laenge » Wed Sep 22, 2021 3:42 am

Hi,

I have a working IA setup, build with IA X12 using Aero theme.
This setup does not work correctly when executed as System user (reproduced with psexec).

Applying ALLUSERS = TRUE as default, changing Aero to Official and applying code modifications from viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10656 did not change the behavior.

The result after setup execution:
- the program is listed in the control panel
- the uninstall start menu link is created
- the registry entry under HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\ is created, pointing to the expected default InstallLocation under C:\Program Files (x86)

- at the indicated InstallLacation no files or folders exist
- no desktop links
- no other start menu links

What am I missing here?

kind regards
Anja


EDIT:
logging the setup execution, I have entries like
MSI (s) (B8:14) [13:33:06:949]: SECREPAIR: Failed to open the file:C:\Windows\Temp\mia1\OFFLINE\3BE32701\147329ED\filename.dll for computing its hash. Error:3
MSI (s) (B8:14) [13:33:06:950]: SECUREREPAIR: Failed to CreateContentHash of the file: OFFLINE\3BE32701\147329ED\filename.dll: for computing its hash. Error: 3
MSI (s) (B8:14) [13:33:06:951]: SECREPAIR: Hash Value for the file:OFFLINE\3BE32701\147329ED\filename.dll is:

MSI (s) (B8:34) [13:33:56:652]: Executing op: ComponentRegister(ComponentId={BB9B98C2-CA88-4A12-AC2D-81C3BC3F8F95},KeyPath=C:\Program Files (x86)\target\de\filename.dll,State=3,,Disk=1,SharedDllRefCount=0,BinaryType=0)
MSI (s) (B8:34) [13:33:56:657]: WIN64DUALFOLDERS: Substitution in 'C:\Program Files (x86)\target\de\filename.dll' folder had been blocked by the 1 mask argument (the folder pair's iSwapAttrib member = 0).

('target' and 'filename' are my replacements)

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5208
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Installation as System User with IA X12

Postby FrancescoT » Thu Sep 23, 2021 1:01 pm

Dear Anja,

are you querying both "System->Desktop" and "Start Menu->Programs" folder locations For All Users?
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

anja_laenge
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:02 am

Re: Installation as System User with IA X12

Postby anja_laenge » Fri Sep 24, 2021 4:34 am

FrancescoT wrote:Dear Anja,

are you querying both "System->Desktop" and "Start Menu->Programs" folder locations For All Users?


I am using the recommendations from the post mentioned above:

Code: Select all

Get Common Folder Location Start Menu->Programs Group into SHORTCUTFILESALL
Get Folder Location Start Menu->Programs Group into SHORTCUTFILES
if Variable SHORTCUTFILESALL Equals
  Set Variable SHORTCUTFILESALL to $SHORTCUTFILES$
end

if Variable ALLUSERS Equals TRUE
  Set Variable SHORTCUTFOLDER to $SHORTCUTFILESALL$\$STARTMENU$
  Get Common Folder Location System->Desktop Directory into DESKTOPDIR
else
  Set Variable SHORTCUTFOLDER to $SHORTCUTFILES$\$STARTMENU$
  Get Folder Location System->Desktop Directory into DESKTOPDIR
end


second part before installation process.

I would understand, if there'd be something blocking the complete setup.
But...
registry uninstall is written correctly, the target folder does not even exist, the log shows the cited items for failed, error, blocked etc

I am confused;
what could be the reasons for the control panel reporting success while various actions required to transfer files to the destination are blocked and fail, and as a consequence the destination folder does not exist?

EDIT: Must the setup be signed?

kind regards
Anja

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5208
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Installation as System User with IA X12

Postby FrancescoT » Fri Sep 24, 2021 10:39 am

Dear Anja,

there are a few things which are not totally clear to me.

Are you sure the problem you are reporting is directly related to the Administrative installation mode? Does the setup work fine when installing as PER-MACHINE or PER-USER?

Are you using a CLEAN MACHINE (where exclusively the OS is installed - no other software) to test the package?
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

anja_laenge
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:02 am

Re: Installation as System User with IA X12

Postby anja_laenge » Mon Sep 27, 2021 2:19 am

Hello Francesco,

FrancescoT wrote:oes the setup work fine when installing as PER-MACHINE or PER-USER?

All our setups are per-machine.
the setup works
- with ui
- silent
- silent as local admin


Are you using a CLEAN MACHINE (where exclusively the OS is installed - no other software) to test the package?

a very basic clean testing platform.

Apart from all other aspects: what could be causes for the cited log entries?

kind regards
Anja

anja_laenge
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:02 am

Re: Installation as System User with IA X12

Postby anja_laenge » Mon Sep 27, 2021 2:20 am

anja_laenge wrote:Hello Francesco,

FrancescoT wrote:oes the setup work fine when installing as PER-MACHINE or PER-USER?

All our setups are per-machine.
the setup works
- with ui
- silent
- silent as local admin


Are you using a CLEAN MACHINE (where exclusively the OS is installed - no other software) to test the package?

a very basic clean testing platform.

Apart from all other aspects:
- what could be causes for the cited log entries?
- must a system user setup be signed?

kind regards
Anja

anja_laenge
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:02 am

Re: Installation as System User with IA X12

Postby anja_laenge » Mon Sep 27, 2021 5:03 am

Hello Francesco,

FrancescoT wrote:oes the setup work fine when installing as PER-MACHINE or PER-USER?

All our setups are per-machine.
the setup works
- with ui
- silent
- silent as local admin


Are you using a CLEAN MACHINE (where exclusively the OS is installed - no other software) to test the package?

a very basic clean testing platform.

Apart from all other aspects:
- what could be causes for the cited log entries?
- must a system user setup be signed?

kind regards
Anja[/quote][/quote]

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5208
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Installation as System User with IA X12

Postby FrancescoT » Mon Sep 27, 2021 1:37 pm

Dear Anja,

I don't think the issue may be due the signature.

Could you please post the complete log file? I'd like to take a look at it
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

anja_laenge
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 1:02 am

Re: Installation as System User with IA X12

Postby anja_laenge » Mon Oct 04, 2021 4:20 am

Hello Francesco,

I have completely recreated the project and it works now.
I didn't want to post the log here because it contains sensitive data and is 64 MB in size.

Another question: I see a full variable dump in the log; is there any way to do something like this via the custom log script without entering all variables manually?

ind regards
Anja

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5208
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Installation as System User with IA X12

Postby FrancescoT » Wed Oct 06, 2021 8:16 am

Unfortunately there isn't a built-in method for this.
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests