Error during build: Unable to build runtime files: Archive handler not installed

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
vlazer
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2022 12:51 pm

Error during build: Unable to build runtime files: Archive handler not installed

Postby vlazer » Tue Sep 13, 2022 1:05 pm

We have InstallAware Studio X10 and used it without a problem for years. Now suddenly every time we're trying to build a release, any release, either from the IDE or from command line using miabuild.exe we are getting the following error:
[exec] Created Windows Installer database
[exec] Built installation executable
[exec] Injected setup languages
[exec] Error during build: Unable to build runtime files: Archive handler not installed
[exec]
[exec] Build failed

This is happening to all the developers in our team (2 of us)

Any help, suggestions would be highly appreciated.

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5319
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Error during build: Unable to build runtime files: Archive handler not installed

Postby FrancescoT » Fri Sep 16, 2022 12:36 pm

It looks like a corrupted installation.

Do you have any third party Anti virus installed? Did you update it recently?
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

vlazer
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2022 12:51 pm

Re: Error during build: Unable to build runtime files: Archive handler not installed

Postby vlazer » Fri Sep 16, 2022 3:24 pm

I tried to uninstall and re-install InstallAware but the error persisted.
I'm sure the company i work for has some Anti Virus installed on all our machines. I'll ask if it has been updated recently.

vlazer
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2022 12:51 pm

Re: Error during build: Unable to build runtime files: Archive handler not installed

Postby vlazer » Thu Sep 22, 2022 10:07 am

Thanks Francesco, it was the company anti virus. Once they rolled back the update InstallAware started working again.


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests