Empty Error dialog

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
vlazer
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2022 12:51 pm

Empty Error dialog

Postby vlazer » Wed Oct 05, 2022 12:08 pm

I have a very simple installer that behaves in a weird way. For certain verisons of the application, as defined in InstallAware, every time I try to install the application I get an empty "Error" dialog. If I change the version by adding "-SNAPSHOT" and I rebuild the .exe, it works.
The application requires "Always Elevate (requireAdministrator)"
Any suggestions are highly appreciated.

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5319
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Empty Error dialog

Postby FrancescoT » Sat Oct 08, 2022 4:30 am

In all honesty, I have no idea of what "-SNAPSHOT" is for or what this should do.
I can only suppose it's a custom keyword you introduced for some reason.

You should try to describe the problem a bit more clearly and in details.
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

vlazer
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2022 12:51 pm

Re: Empty Error dialog

Postby vlazer » Wed Oct 12, 2022 12:55 pm

Hi Francesco,

SNAPSHOT is just an arbitrary string and any other string can be used. That was just an example.
Not sure how much detail I can provide. The problem is very simple. We have a very basic installer that sometimes can be ran without any problems, and sometimes, just by changing the version to something else and rebuilding the installer it throws that empty "Error' dialog box.
One thing that is consistent is that the error only happens when the user running the installer is not an admin, and enters an admin user's credentials for the install, when prompted. The application requires "Always Elevate (requireAdministrator)"
Please let me know what other details are needed, and I'll be happy to provide them, if possible.

Thanks,
Victor.

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5319
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Empty Error dialog

Postby FrancescoT » Mon Oct 17, 2022 5:52 am

unfortunately, I cannot give any help given the details you provided.
Alternatively, You may share a VERY VERY MINIMAL setup project that replicates the issue (including the necessary reproduction steps).
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

vlazer
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2022 12:51 pm

Re: Empty Error dialog

Postby vlazer » Mon Oct 17, 2022 8:51 am

Hi Francesco,
Please find attached 3 files.
The one named "installer_test.zip" is the source for a test setup project that exibits the behavior I was talking about.
The zip filed named "executables.zip" containes 2 executables built with the same project. One has the verison 3.0.22 and this is the one that pops up the empty error dialog, the 2nd one has the version 3.0.22_FT, and this one installs correctly. The only difference between the 2 is the version (FT is just a random string, but anything can be used).
The 3rd file named "error.doc" is just a screenshot of the error dialog I'm getting.
This behavior happens only if the executable is run on a machine where the login user doesn't have admin priviledges, and enters admin credentials when prompted by the installer.
Please let me know if there is anything else I should provide.

Thanks,
Victor.
Attachments
error.docx
(40.54 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
installer_test.zip
(734.79 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
executables.zip
(4.13 MiB) Downloaded 13 times


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 14 guests