Page 1 of 1

Feature Request -- Set Version on Command Line

Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2015 2:51 pm
by Enginerd
With InstallShield (the product I was using before switching to InstallAware),
I could easily set the product version via command line. ie...

Code: Select all

"C:\\Program\ Files\ (x86)\\InstallShield\\2014\\System\\IsCmdBld.exe" /? | grep version
        -y <Product Version> version number in the format xx.xx.xxxxx


Now I can sortof simulate this behavior with InstallAware by setting the
"Product Version" field to ie. "#MYVERSION#" (which the IDE allows but
complains about) and then setting the MYVERSION variable via the
command line. ie....

Code: Select all

"C:\\Program Files (x86)\\InstallAware X3\\miabuild.exe" "D:\\MyApp\\installer\\MyApp.mpr" /o "D:\\MyApp\\installer\\MyApp\\Release" /b1 /r MYVERSION=3.9.96


This does work. But has one serious downside -- builds created using the IDE
do not get a value for the MYVERSION variable set. Which looks odd.

What I think would be better, and which I expect would require very
little work.

I would like to be able to set the "Product Version" field in the project
to something like "1.0.0", so builds from the IDE are not broken.

And I would like to have an InstallAware command line option, similar
to the current InstallShield "-y" option allowing me to override the
value for the "Product Version" field saved in the project via the
command line. Best to give it a sensible option name i.e.

Code: Select all

"C:\\Program Files (x86)\\InstallAware X3\\miabuild.exe" /? | grep Override
       /o          Override default output folder
       /b          Override default build type
       /v          Override default Product Version


Seem reasonable?

Re: Feature Request -- Set Version on Command Line

Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 9:34 am
by FrancescoT
Dear Enginerd,

in reality what are you asking it's already available in InstallAware.
I can only suppose that probably you did not get a chance to verify the IA documentation about COMPILER VARIABLES.

You can easily define a "default" value for any of the "custom compiler variables" you use with your project.
Press SHIFT+CTRL+F11, select the "Compiler Variables" node from the left tree pane and then define the variable with its pre-defined value.

Once you defined your compiler variables, their values will be used each time your project is built from the IA IDE or their values will be OVERRIDDEN, if any of them is assigned via command line with the MiaBuild tool.

So, I don't believe it's not necessary any additional "override" option with our tool.

Regards

Re: Feature Request -- Set Version on Command Line

Posted: Mon Aug 31, 2015 4:38 pm
by Enginerd
FrancescoT wrote:So, I don't believe any additional "override" option with our tool is necessary.


I didn't say it is necessary. But I do think it would be a nice addition,
and would allow you to match a very convenient feature from a
competing product. Just a wishlist request.