IA X6 error when starting "the handle is invalid"

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
ts1
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 3:47 am

IA X6 error when starting "the handle is invalid"

Postby ts1 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:44 am

Hi,

after the Message "The InstallAware Wizard is verifying..." this error Message pops up.
I don't know where to find further help.

This error suddenly occurs in 1 of our projects after switching to IA X6.
With web based exe and/or compresed single exe. Same execution error if compressed in any way.
Same execution error on different computers (Server 2012, Win10, ...)

But it does not occur with uncompressed layout.
And it does not occur in a very similar project already with IA X6.
And it does not occur if I switch back to IA X2. (Luckily the .mpr and .mia files seem to be compatible.)

Can you help me finding/solving the problem? The error message itself doesn't help much.

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4862
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: IA X6 error when starting "the handle is invalid"

Postby FrancescoT » Fri Jun 23, 2017 6:11 am

Dear Ts1,

if the error doesn't occur running the setup using an uncompressed layout, it may be possible that the compressed EXE gets corrupted while extracting the setup files to the temporary location.

Is there any Anti Virus installed on your target machine?

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

ts1
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 3:47 am

Re: IA X6 error when starting "the handle is invalid"

Postby ts1 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 7:09 am

FrancescoT wrote:Is there any Anti Virus installed on your target machine?
Hi Francesco,

on all of our systems there is "Sophos Antivirus" running.
But Sophos didn't pop up (as it would do when accessing the EICAR test virus).
And of course we use code signing, the installer-exe is signed.
Different security software on the test computers. We have to test with many of them, as our software is for a higly regulated environment. We'd beat our customers, if they would not use security software.

ts1
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 3:47 am

Re: IA X6 error when starting "the handle is invalid"

Postby ts1 » Mon Jun 26, 2017 3:17 am

I have branched the project, still showing this effect.
Cut it down to 70 lines (.mpr) still showing this effect.

Finally it seems that a setup.bmp of 200kB, linked under Support Files can "toggle" the error:
Included = does not work, Excluded (empty project) = works.
Now back to the original project. I cut only the setup.bmp and suddenly this works!

What's wrong with a mere Bitmap?
I modified it in my test project with mspaint - works.
Restored original - error.
I removed the read only flag (because it wasn't checked out for editing) - works.

Retested with my orginal project: read only flags toggles the error.

Whom may I send the bill?

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4862
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: IA X6 error when starting "the handle is invalid"

Postby FrancescoT » Mon Jun 26, 2017 4:57 am

So if I haven't missed anything, is the "read only attribute" of the bitmap file at the source of the problem?

Interesting, I'll try to see if I am able to replicate the same.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

ts1
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 3:47 am

Re: IA X6 error when starting "the handle is invalid"

Postby ts1 » Mon Jun 26, 2017 5:14 am

FrancescoT wrote:So if I haven't missed anything, is the "read only attribute" of the bitmap file at the source of the problem?
At least it looks like a possible solution to my project. I will now "attrib -r *.*" after checkout. (Anyway ro files may lead to other problems during program execution or update/uninstall. We don't need read only files.)
I noticed a different behaviour already during compilation. A ro setup.bmp is not removed from the Release\Web folder, although it's already compiled into the setup.exe. I just didn't got the correct idea, when I noticed this first.

And yes, I've just created a native setup and added the setup.bmp Support File. Check ro: Installation will fail.

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4862
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: IA X6 error when starting "the handle is invalid"

Postby FrancescoT » Mon Jun 26, 2017 10:48 am

Dear Ts1,

I managed to replicate the issue as you reported. I'll send a note about this to our dev tem.

Thanks for sharing your findings

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

nkoszyk
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Houghton, MI, USA

Re: IA X6 error when starting "the handle is invalid"

Postby nkoszyk » Thu Jun 29, 2017 11:22 am

For me, the issue arises when I digitally sign my assemblies/executables in my setup project.

I signed the package using my pfx key file (and password) and left 'Sign All Executables' unchecked. Compiled a compressed setup and everything worked fine. Once I used the same pfx key file and password and SignTool to digitally sign my assemblies and executables and recompile the setup I get 'the handle is invalid'...sometimes after an epileptic light show from Windows trying to flash something on my screen faster than the eye can follow.

This fails no matter what compression setting I use and if I use Single File or Web Deploy. Works fine if I use CD or DVD build....and no, my setup.bmp is not read-only.

...and it also breaks if I allow Installaware to sign my files.
---------------------------------------------------------------
Nick Koszykowski, Principal Programmer
Michigan Tech University
Center for Technology & Training

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4862
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: IA X6 error when starting "the handle is invalid"

Postby FrancescoT » Thu Jun 29, 2017 12:27 pm

Dear Nkoszyk,

I believe that there is something else at the root of your issue. I don't see any problem that may be caused by the signature of the internal setup files. Furthermore, the " signature of the internal setup files" is one of the most used IA features ....and due of this, we should have received thousand reports about this issue.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

nkoszyk
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Houghton, MI, USA

Re: IA X6 error when starting "the handle is invalid"

Postby nkoszyk » Fri Jun 30, 2017 1:39 pm

So....sucks to be me then? It's nice to get a response but I was hoping for a little guidance. Anywhere else I can get some support on this issue or is this the final word?

FrancescoT wrote:Dear Nkoszyk,

I believe that there is something else at the root of your issue. I don't see any problem that may be caused by the signature of the internal setup files. Furthermore, the " signature of the internal setup files" is one of the most used IA features ....and due of this, we should have received thousand reports about this issue.

Regards
---------------------------------------------------------------
Nick Koszykowski, Principal Programmer
Michigan Tech University
Center for Technology & Training

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4862
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: IA X6 error when starting "the handle is invalid"

Postby FrancescoT » Fri Jun 30, 2017 3:29 pm

Dear Nick,

I didn't say any final word or neither refused to give you support. You didn't share any information about how you verified the error.

First for all;

- is the issue replicable with any target machine?

For example, did you try with testing your package on a CLEAN MACHINE where EXCLUSIVELY the OS is installed (without any other kind of software or Anti Virus installed)?

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

nkoszyk
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Houghton, MI, USA

Re: IA X6 error when starting "the handle is invalid"

Postby nkoszyk » Fri Jun 30, 2017 3:36 pm

Again, thanks for the reply and the questions--your initial response didn't ask me for further info so I just assumed....Sorry about that.

I am running the installer in a clean, service-packed Windows 7, 8, 10 VM. No AV or any other software besides whatever Microsoft includes and whatever stuff VMWare includes.

Just tried it again in a clean Windows 10 (version 1607) Virtual Machine and instead got 'Unable to remove temporary files' after about 30 seconds of flickering.

nk
---------------------------------------------------------------
Nick Koszykowski, Principal Programmer
Michigan Tech University
Center for Technology & Training

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4862
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: IA X6 error when starting "the handle is invalid"

Postby FrancescoT » Mon Jul 03, 2017 4:09 am

Dear Nick,

so the problem cannot be due the target.

What about your build machine? Which OS, IA version, any AV installed?

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

nkoszyk
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Houghton, MI, USA

Re: IA X6 error when starting "the handle is invalid"

Postby nkoszyk » Tue Jul 11, 2017 7:08 am

Build machine is a clean Windows 7 VM with no additional AV installed.
---------------------------------------------------------------
Nick Koszykowski, Principal Programmer
Michigan Tech University
Center for Technology & Training

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4862
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: IA X6 error when starting "the handle is invalid"

Postby FrancescoT » Tue Jul 11, 2017 12:04 pm

Dear Nick,

which IA version are you using?

Which is the exact installed version?
- you can check the exact version from Add Remove Program under Control Panel)

Which is the exact build number?
- to check your build number; from IA IDE switch to "Project view" then select the "version" Button from the top "Ribbon" menu bar.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests