Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
BorisB
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 7:15 am

Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Postby BorisB » Wed Aug 09, 2017 3:49 am

Hello,

When I start my Installer two progress bars appear. After the second progress bar with a text like "InstallAware is preparing the InstallAware Wizard which will install this application. Please wait" the Installer completly disappears. This can take two minutes or more till the actual wizard is launched. This issuse does not happen on every computer.

Thank you in advance,
Boris

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4862
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Postby FrancescoT » Wed Aug 09, 2017 5:35 am

Dear Boris,

this behavior can be caused by another process running with the target machine...typically, this can be due an intrusive Anti Virus.
You should Always test your packages on a Clean Machine where exclusively the OS is installed.

Hope this helps you.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

BorisB
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 7:15 am

Re: Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Postby BorisB » Thu Aug 10, 2017 9:19 am

FrancescoT wrote:Dear Boris,
this behavior can be caused by another process running with the target machine...typically, this can be due an intrusive Anti Virus.
You should Always test your packages on a Clean Machine where exclusively the OS is installed.


Hello Francesco,

thank you for your response. I run my setup on a clean machine. Also on this computer I could see a delay of roughly 25 seconds

Regards,
Boris

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4862
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Postby FrancescoT » Thu Aug 10, 2017 12:41 pm

Dear Boris,

does your setup logic execute/run/call any task before to display the first setup dialog?

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

BorisB
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 7:15 am

Re: Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Postby BorisB » Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:24 am

FrancescoT wrote:Dear Boris,

does your setup logic execute/run/call any task before to display the first setup dialog?

Regards


Hello Francesco,

I have added some setup logic, but it should not impede startup time on a noticeable level. I have added the code below.

Code: Select all

Set Variable MYAHLOGO to TRUE
Set Variable MYAH_DISABLE_VISTA_RESTART_MANAGER to TRUE
Set Variable MYAH_DISABLE_ROLLBACK to TRUE
Set Variable NATIVE_HARDLINK to TRUE
Set Variable NATIVE_ROLLBACK to FALSE
Set Variable NATIVE_OVERRIDE_NON_RESTORABLE_PERMISSIONS to TRUE
Set Variable NATIVE_OVERRIDE_PERMISSIONS to TRUE
Set Variable NATIVE_OVERWRITE_OLDER to TRUE
Set Variable NATIVE_OVERWRITE to ALWAYS
Set Variable NATIVE_ERROR to IGNORE
Set Variable DELAYUNTIL_APPLYCHANGES to FALSE
Set Variable SILENT to FALSE
Set Variable NATIVE_ENGINE to TRUE
Set Variable SAVEDATA to FALSE
Set Variable MYAH_TIMEOUT to 10
Set Variable MYAH_COMPRESS_INSTALLER_CACHE to FALSE
Set Variable ABORTONERROR to TRUE
Accelerate Windows Installer ( disable System Restore, disable file costing, disable verbose progress )
Comment: Disable sliding between dialogs
Set Variable FX to NONE
Get Environment Variable %ProgramData% into Variable ProgramDataPath
Set Variable LOGGED to $ProgramDataPath$\ProgramName®\Install.log



Regards,
Boris

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4862
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Postby FrancescoT » Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:18 am

Dear Boris,

the delay you are reporting cannot be caused by those variables. You should check if there is anything else in your script that may cause such delay.
Please also consider that a possible minimal delay, it may caused by the check operations performed by the included application RTMs (if any included).

Last but not least; because your setup is based on NATIVE ENGINE (Set Variable NATIVE_ENGINE to TRUE), it doesn't make any sense to set the variable "MYAH_DISABLE_ROLLBACK" and to call the "Accelerate Windows Installer" command. These only work with a MSI based setup.

Finally, the IA engine already sets by default "MYAH_TIMEOUT=10" ...so it's useless to set this to 10.

Hope this helps you.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

aimcorp
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 9:46 am

Re: Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Postby aimcorp » Fri Apr 20, 2018 3:39 pm

I have the same problem.

I am trying to run a patch, on several computers, the patch work fine, but on some computers, the installers disappear and never execute.

Will try without Antivirus.

Any suggestions?

aimcorp
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 9:46 am

Re: Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Postby aimcorp » Sat Feb 02, 2019 11:15 am

I still having the same “issue” for more than three months

The installation of main program work fine, but when apply a patch, on some computers is flashed away and the installation screen never opens.

This is happening randomly. I have done everything; deactivate the antivirus, uninstall the antivirus, get rid of firewall, check for others antivirus…

Nothing works on those few machines.

I think the problem is the patch itself, because I have other applications on those machines and the patches apply no problem and I am using similar installations in all.

Any thoughts?


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests