Page 1 of 1

Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 3:49 am
by BorisB
Hello,

When I start my Installer two progress bars appear. After the second progress bar with a text like "InstallAware is preparing the InstallAware Wizard which will install this application. Please wait" the Installer completly disappears. This can take two minutes or more till the actual wizard is launched. This issuse does not happen on every computer.

Thank you in advance,
Boris

Re: Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 5:35 am
by FrancescoT
Dear Boris,

this behavior can be caused by another process running with the target machine...typically, this can be due an intrusive Anti Virus.
You should Always test your packages on a Clean Machine where exclusively the OS is installed.

Hope this helps you.

Regards

Re: Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 9:19 am
by BorisB
FrancescoT wrote:Dear Boris,
this behavior can be caused by another process running with the target machine...typically, this can be due an intrusive Anti Virus.
You should Always test your packages on a Clean Machine where exclusively the OS is installed.


Hello Francesco,

thank you for your response. I run my setup on a clean machine. Also on this computer I could see a delay of roughly 25 seconds

Regards,
Boris

Re: Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 12:41 pm
by FrancescoT
Dear Boris,

does your setup logic execute/run/call any task before to display the first setup dialog?

Regards

Re: Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:24 am
by BorisB
FrancescoT wrote:Dear Boris,

does your setup logic execute/run/call any task before to display the first setup dialog?

Regards


Hello Francesco,

I have added some setup logic, but it should not impede startup time on a noticeable level. I have added the code below.

Code: Select all

Set Variable MYAHLOGO to TRUE
Set Variable MYAH_DISABLE_VISTA_RESTART_MANAGER to TRUE
Set Variable MYAH_DISABLE_ROLLBACK to TRUE
Set Variable NATIVE_HARDLINK to TRUE
Set Variable NATIVE_ROLLBACK to FALSE
Set Variable NATIVE_OVERRIDE_NON_RESTORABLE_PERMISSIONS to TRUE
Set Variable NATIVE_OVERRIDE_PERMISSIONS to TRUE
Set Variable NATIVE_OVERWRITE_OLDER to TRUE
Set Variable NATIVE_OVERWRITE to ALWAYS
Set Variable NATIVE_ERROR to IGNORE
Set Variable DELAYUNTIL_APPLYCHANGES to FALSE
Set Variable SILENT to FALSE
Set Variable NATIVE_ENGINE to TRUE
Set Variable SAVEDATA to FALSE
Set Variable MYAH_TIMEOUT to 10
Set Variable MYAH_COMPRESS_INSTALLER_CACHE to FALSE
Set Variable ABORTONERROR to TRUE
Accelerate Windows Installer ( disable System Restore, disable file costing, disable verbose progress )
Comment: Disable sliding between dialogs
Set Variable FX to NONE
Get Environment Variable %ProgramData% into Variable ProgramDataPath
Set Variable LOGGED to $ProgramDataPath$\ProgramName®\Install.log



Regards,
Boris

Re: Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:18 am
by FrancescoT
Dear Boris,

the delay you are reporting cannot be caused by those variables. You should check if there is anything else in your script that may cause such delay.
Please also consider that a possible minimal delay, it may caused by the check operations performed by the included application RTMs (if any included).

Last but not least; because your setup is based on NATIVE ENGINE (Set Variable NATIVE_ENGINE to TRUE), it doesn't make any sense to set the variable "MYAH_DISABLE_ROLLBACK" and to call the "Accelerate Windows Installer" command. These only work with a MSI based setup.

Finally, the IA engine already sets by default "MYAH_TIMEOUT=10" ...so it's useless to set this to 10.

Hope this helps you.

Regards

Re: Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2018 3:39 pm
by aimcorp
I have the same problem.

I am trying to run a patch, on several computers, the patch work fine, but on some computers, the installers disappear and never execute.

Will try without Antivirus.

Any suggestions?

Re: Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 11:15 am
by aimcorp
I still having the same “issue” for more than three months

The installation of main program work fine, but when apply a patch, on some computers is flashed away and the installation screen never opens.

This is happening randomly. I have done everything; deactivate the antivirus, uninstall the antivirus, get rid of firewall, check for others antivirus…

Nothing works on those few machines.

I think the problem is the patch itself, because I have other applications on those machines and the patches apply no problem and I am using similar installations in all.

Any thoughts?

Re: Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Posted: Thu Mar 04, 2021 3:52 pm
by aimcorp
I have experienced this behavior in few customers computers, that ran our application before (previous year).

I set Windows Defender to stop checking everything, but still the first and second screens opens, and then disappear

Any help will be gladly appreciated.

Re: Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2021 2:02 pm
by FrancescoT
You should provide some more details about the issue.
Does it happen when installing a compressed setup.exe?

At any rate, I don't think that this may be due Windows Defender.

Re: Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2023 8:00 am
by aimcorp
My version: Installaware X15

Hello

This is never fixed?

I did a total new installation script.

Then after few days I did a new patch file.

Still in some machine the patch appear and dissapear without installing the patch.

Any suggetions?

Ariel Maisonet
president Aim Corp

Re: Installer disappears for a minute after the second progressbar

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2024 11:26 am
by JohnGaver
Your patch is compiled from your very same source script(s), where the #BUILDMODE# pre-defined Compiler Variable (see their full list at http://www.installaware.com/mh52/deskto ... iables.htm) is set to PATCH.

You may therefore normally log and debug it as with any other part of your setup to see what is failing on affected devices.