Page 1 of 2

Cannot debug in IDE anymore

Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 1:52 pm
by BrandonK
I've got a pretty straightforward .NET 1.1 install project. Build deployment type is set to Compressed Single Self-Installing EXE. Debug Build is checked in the Project Options dialog.

Clicking Project menu > Build Project creates a successful build. The output EXE runs fine.

Problem is debugging the build. If, immediately after building, I click Run Current Project, I get a messagebox:
Please make a debug build of your project before running it in the IDE


If I click Run Without Debugging I get a messagebox:
Please build your project before running without debugging.


Still new to InstallAware; I'm probably missing something obvious. Thanks in advance.

Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 3:20 pm
by BrandonK
Found the solution... I was using compiler variables in the Project Options > Build > Output Filename (e.g. MyInstall #Version#.msi). Once I removed them debugging worked.

Guess that's not allowed?

Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:09 pm
by MichaelNesmith
Yes, please do not use compiler variables while debugging in your project output filename. You may still specify a custom output filename, just not a compiler variable. You can restore compiler variables once you're done debugging. Apologies for the inconvenience!

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:30 am
by BrandonK
Thanks for the info. No inconvenience really, just me learning the tool.

Instead of compiler variables in the output name, it would be just as easy to have my automated build script rename the file(s) when publishing them on our LAN. That way I don't have to remember to add/remove the variables from the InstallAware project options.

Re: Cannot debug in IDE anymore

Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 9:49 am
by will.s.owen
I am having the same error, but I do not have any compiler variables in the output name. Any ideas?

Re: Cannot debug in IDE anymore

Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 11:01 am
by FrancescoT
Dera User,

can you try to describe more accurately your issue?
Happens with any project?
Do you receive any error message or anything else? ... otherwise will be not so easy to try to help you?

Regards

Re: Cannot debug in IDE anymore

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:31 am
by jpgolay
Same problem each time I have to debug it's nightmare
- No output variable
- Debug build checked
- No compression
- CD or DVD build
It does not run in direct nor in debug
Please fix this issue we are having for years I am tired to spend 3 days each time I have to debug

Re: Cannot debug in IDE anymore

Posted: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:46 am
by FrancescoT
Dear User,

if you please will be more clear ... very probably I will not spent 3 day to figure out what you are really doing.

Because I am able to debug a project (without any particular trick) as many other users do ... I suspect that probably exist something wrong with the way you are doing it.

If you will try to explain your case without being so rude ... I will be very happy to verify what happens.

Regards

Re: Cannot debug in IDE anymore

Posted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 6:31 am
by Nicklas Jepsen
Maybe you could try to explain exactly which conditions needs to be fulfilled before we are able to debug the installer?

In the Project Options dialog, on the Build node, make sure the Debug Build checkbox is checked. You may choose any deployment type as long as this checkbox is checked. Note that you do not need to check the Debug build checkbox when building with the Uncompressed Directory Layout option.
Build your project at least once before beginning debugging. Remember to rebuild whenever you change your installation files and/or build mode. Rebuilding is not necessary when you change the installation script.
The SUPPORTDIR variable, and other variables which refer to the location of the running setup program, will refer to your project folder.
The EXEFILE variable, and other variables which refer to the running setup program, will refer to the InstallAware IDE executable file itself.


I have a project which meets the requirements in the very limited description in the manual.

Please simply tell us which special conditions we need to make sure are fulfilled before we can debug our projects.

Regards Nicklas

Re: Cannot debug in IDE anymore

Posted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 8:40 am
by FrancescoT
Dear Nicklas,

the steps required to execute a debug are exactly what you reported and it is not required any additional operation or condition.

To summarize these steps one again;
- In the Project Options dialog, on the Build node, make sure the Debug Build checkbox is checked.
- Rebuild your project
- In the MSI view add any breakpoints that you may require to your script.
- In the MSI view start the debug process clicking the "DEBUG" button in InstallAware Ribbon menu.

All the required steps to debug a project are described in InstallAware documentation (just search for "Debugging").

Hope this helps you.

Regards.

Re: Cannot debug in IDE anymore

Posted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 8:53 am
by Nicklas Jepsen
FrancescoT wrote:Dear Nicklas,

the steps required to execute a debug are exactly what you reported and it is not required any additional operation or condition.

To summarize these steps one again;
- In the Project Options dialog, on the Build node, make sure the Debug Build checkbox is checked.
- Rebuild your project
- In the MSI view add any breakpoints that you may require to your script.
- In the MSI view start the debug process clicking the "DEBUG" button in InstallAware Ribbon menu.

All the required steps to debug a project are described in InstallAware documentation (just search for "Debugging").

Hope this helps you.

Regards.


I have just tried to create a new project from the .NET template that comes with IA 15 and done the following:
    Check debug build in the Project settings/Project options build node
    Build the project (both as a single isntaller and a web installer)
    Debug the project

...and it just gives me the dialog telling me to make a debug build.

It should be easy to repro in your end.

Regards, Nicklas

Re: Cannot debug in IDE anymore

Posted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 9:21 am
by FrancescoT
Dear Nicklas,

I just replicated your steps ... and works fine.

For what you are reporting... seems your project is not builded at all.

Are you using a custom output path for your project?

Regards

Re: Cannot debug in IDE anymore

Posted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 9:33 am
by Nicklas Jepsen
No custom build path.

The installation of IA is also new - installed it last week.

The project is build - I'm able to se the output exe.

Re: Cannot debug in IDE anymore

Posted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 9:49 am
by FrancescoT
Dear Nicklas,

are you using InstallAware as trial?
If not, have you regenerated your license?
have you tried to switch OFF the Anti-virus application (if any)?

Regards

Re: Cannot debug in IDE anymore

Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 2:43 am
by Nicklas Jepsen
No trial version and yes - updated license.

Here's how I got it to debug:
Neither do a Web-deploy or Single-file build just click on the gear icon (or Shift+F9).

Maybe that's a point worth mentioning in the help text..