Show text in a dialog

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
Wersi
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2020 8:00 am

Show text in a dialog

Postby Wersi » Wed Aug 04, 2021 5:59 am

Hi, everyone,

I have a problem.

In one dialog, the user can choose between two files, which of them will be displayed in the next dialog.

The selection and display of the file works perfectly in debug mode.

In the later installation exe then no longer.

Where is the mistake?

The test project consists of only a few lines

Does somebody has any idea?

Regards

Ulrich

label: SelectRead
Dislay Dialog: SelectRead, wait for dialog return (modal)
Read from Text File #READALL\$Filename$ into Variable ShowIni
label ShowText
Dislay Dialog: ShowText, wait for dialog return (modal)

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5360
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Show text in a dialog

Postby FrancescoT » Wed Aug 04, 2021 1:35 pm

How does the "Filename variable" (which should point to the full path of the file, I suppose) get resolved by the script?
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

Wersi
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2020 8:00 am

Re: Show text in a dialog

Postby Wersi » Thu Aug 12, 2021 10:32 am

Sorry for the late reply. I had to finish another project.

As a quick solution, I have cached the text once.

In the first dialog the user selects the desired text file via a FileListBox.

Then read the text of the selected file into a variable and save this text in the temp.txt file

Then I read the temp.txt file into a new variable and this text is then displayed correctly in the next dialog.

Without this intermediate step, it would not work.

In debug mode, the display of the text also works without the intermediate step.

The paths used are all in plain text without variables.

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5360
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Show text in a dialog

Postby FrancescoT » Fri Aug 13, 2021 12:20 pm

If you have a chance to share a very minmal project that replicates the issue, I'll be more than happy to verify the issue you seems to have.

Unfortunately, without having the code ...it's not easy to say what is be going on.
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 44 guests