Page 1 of 1

Unable to Read Registry

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2025 1:19 am
by vaibhavopkey
I'm using Installaware Multi Platefrom in windows & unable to read my app location from the registry in Windows. However, when I run it in CMD, I'm able to retrieve my app location.

This is the code:

Code: Select all

Read Registry Key HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\My_APP\InstallLocation into AgentLocation


In AgentLocation I'm getting nothing.

Re: Unable to Read Registry

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2025 4:18 pm
by JohnGaver
You're trying to read a 64-bit registry key, and setup's default installation mode is 32-bit.

Just use the Set 64 Bit Mode command in your setup before reading your desired key.

Re: Unable to Read Registry

Posted: Wed Mar 19, 2025 12:23 am
by vaibhavopkey
After adding set 64 bit mode ,I'm unable to ready registry location.
This is Code I'm using

Code: Select all

Get System Setting Windows in 64 bit Mode into ISWINDOWS64BIT
if Variable ISWINDOWS64BIT Equals TRUE
  Set x64 - Native 64 bit Windows, AMD64, EM64T, and ARM64 Architectures - installation mode
end
Set Variable APPLOCATION to
Read Registry Key HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\My_App\InstallLocation into $APPLOCATION$
MessageBox: Agent LOCATION,  Location -> $APPLOCATION$

Re: Unable to Read Registry

Posted: Wed Mar 19, 2025 6:49 am
by JohnGaver
Could you please prepare a .reg file with the expected registry key that can be merged into the registry, and then also an empty project with just the code snippet you shared? We would then be able to escalate your package.

Maybe another idea to try before that is to test whether you're running on aarch64 or AMD64 Windows, though:

Code: Select all

Get System Setting Windows on ARM into AARCH64

The single test you're running will return TRUE only on AMD64 platforms, and not the newer aarch64 platforms. This is to ensure conformance with Windows's default API behaviors, which report aarch64 platforms as x86 platforms and not AMD64 platforms (although in their latest iterations, these platforms are actually able to run AMD64 apps via emulation as well).

For clarity, there's two modern versions of Windows that are 64-bit:
AMD64: (and also Intel EM64T) Been around since 2005, the first mass market 64-bit Windows release.
aarch64: Been around since 2018, the more power efficient version, and the second mass market 64-bit Windows release.

There's a discontinued 64-bit Windows release that targeted Intel's unsuccessful Itanium CPU, which was also 64-bit.

To put things in context, a Windows VM running on an apple silicon device is an aarch64 platform.

Re: Unable to Read Registry

Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2025 1:43 am
by vaibhavopkey
I ran the test, but I'm getting 'False.' However, when I check my system, it shows AMD64.

I verified this in the registry:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Environment
where PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE is showing AMD64.

Additionally, in the system settings, it displays:
System type: 64-bit operating system, x64-based processor.

I have provided my setup file and registry file below.
Installaware Test.zip
(1.34 MiB) Downloaded 698 times

Re: Unable to Read Registry

Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2025 6:35 am
by JohnGaver
Ah, so that wouldn't be it then - thanks for sending the project, escalating this for you.

Re: Unable to Read Registry

Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2025 6:37 am
by vaibhavopkey
Any Update ?

Re: Unable to Read Registry

Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2025 10:18 am
by JohnGaver
It seems like some fixes have already been made according to the case log and the product is currently in regression testing. Stay tuned!

Re: Unable to Read Registry

Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2025 7:34 pm
by JohnGaver
The fix is live, please update at your convenience (and please remember to download and install your latest license, fresh from your private client site).

Re: Unable to Read Registry

Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2025 6:00 am
by vaibhavopkey
I was unable to update using the update option I previously posted; it never works.
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11641

I downloaded it from the website again, installed it, and applied the license, but it's still not working.

Re: Unable to Read Registry

Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2025 11:35 am
by JohnGaver
What is the version you see in the about box for the IDE?

Re: Unable to Read Registry

Posted: Tue Mar 25, 2025 2:33 pm
by vaibhavopkey
Version 2025 (2.081) [windows x86]

Re: Unable to Read Registry

Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2025 6:26 am
by JohnGaver
Could you please run the attached project on your system, and let me know what the output is, both with and without 64 bit mode being enabled?

Re: Unable to Read Registry

Posted: Wed Mar 26, 2025 9:16 am
by vaibhavopkey
Thanks, JohnGaver. Now it's working! There was a small mistake on my part—while assigning the registry value, I used $LOCATION$. After removing the $, it's working correctly.