Installing under one user, running updater as another user

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
SQLScott

Installing under one user, running updater as another user

Postby SQLScott » Fri Mar 13, 2009 4:33 pm

We have a scenario that we cannot get to work that we would like some help with, and we are hoping you guru's have the answer.

We have been successful in getting web updates to work (patch and full updates).

However, that is ONLY when everything is done under the same user. We are having problems when the install and updater configuration is done under one user but executed when logged in as someone else.

For example:

1) I log into my pc using my credentials (I am an administrator on my pc) and run the install.
2) I reboot my pc and upon logging in, get prompted to configure the update. I configure the update using my same set of credentials.
3) I then log off, and then log in as a local user (non admin).

Prior to the execution of the update, I open Task Manager. When the udpate (the scheduled task) executes, I see it in Task Manager. However, the update appears to "hang". Meaning, the update doesn't happen and the task remains in Task Manager. I have waited 15 minutes and it is still there, and verified that the application has not been updated.

Like I said, this works perfectly if I do everything as the same user.

This is critical for us. The users of our application are remote (thus the need for web updates).

Any ideas? Thanks, and greatly appreciated.

Scott

JeffryPaul

Problem lies with Microsoft Windows Vista security

Postby JeffryPaul » Mon Apr 20, 2009 4:38 pm

With the advent of Vista's enhanced security, the use of scheduled tasks to apply updates (regardless of logon user) has reached an untimely end.

http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb203962.aspx