Page 1 of 1

How To Change Language Text And Charset At Run Time

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:46 am
by stevew
I am wanting to learn the details of changing the language text and font charset at run time.

For example, in the multi-language sample project i see that a combo box sets variable $LANGUAGE$. This makes sense but i don't understand how all of the text labels are linked into the language translation texts. How can I place a new label on a dialog and have the text and font charset changed at run time?

Can you give me a short sample of how I might accomplish this in script:
if $LANGUAGE$ = "English" then
Label5.Caption = "some western english text"
Dialog5.Label5.Font.Charset = western
ELSE IF $LANGUAGE$ = "Russian" then
Dialog5.Label5.Caption = "some cyrillic gliph text"
Label5.Font.Charset = cyrillic
ELSE IF ETC...

Or is my process incorrect for installAWARE? What is the proper way to do this?

more question

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:56 am
by stevew
For the text in the Translator windows, if a third party does the translations for me is it possible to have the new text imported remotely and rebuilt remotely with the Studio Admin license? I realize i can remotely rebuild but can i remotely import text? I was thinking not, therefore my previous post asked about setting language text in script.

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:24 am
by sinan
Oh yes, you can sure do that. It would be easier than tweaking dialogs...

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:32 am
by sinan
Note: the Form Batch Update Tool has a field that automatically updates form charsets for you. You could send your translators this tool (its a single EXE file) so they can automatically update font charsets in a single pass for all forms in a given path without having to manually use the dialog editor (which would be a pain).