Branding Removal in InstallAware 11

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
giaviv
Posts: 2039
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:39 pm

Branding Removal in InstallAware 11

Postby giaviv » Sun Jun 12, 2011 6:47 pm

Hey guys,

As you know, we added a branding removal feature in InstallAware 11. To activate it, set the MYAHLOGO variable to TRUE at the beginning of your script, like so:

Code: Select all

Set Variable MYAHLOGO to TRUE


Please note that there are a few confusing strings that can be confused with branding, but are actually normal strings that can be removed:

1) When you use an InstallAware dialog theme, you will see a label that is placed on the top left corner of each dialog. This label will contain the text "$TITLE$ Setup - InstallAware Wizard". However, even though you can manually edit this label to remove the InstallAware Wizard part, you might confuse it with the InstallAware branding (for example when working with themes like the Aero one where the title bar extends over that label). Therefore, keep in mind that this text has to be manually removed and will not be affected by setting the MYAHLOGO variable to TRUE.

2) When you launch an InstallAware setup you will see a splash screen that is titled InstallAware Wizard. This string, again, has nothing to do with branding. Instead, its an installer shared string and can be edited by running the mTranslator.exe application from the InstallAware 11\trans dir. Use the tool to change the value of this string for the relevant language to whatever your would like.


Good luck!
Aviv Giladi
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Product Guides - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... guides.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

Aaron Young
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:54 pm

Re: Branding Removal in InstallAware 11

Postby Aaron Young » Fri Jun 17, 2011 10:25 am

I think there may be a bug related to the branding functionality added in InstallAware 11...

It was recently noticed (by one of our testers) that the caption of the installation wizard was doubling-up the Product Name, i.e.

"My ProductMy Product - InstallAware Wizard"

I looked at the Dialog Editor and the caption contains only the variable $TITLE$
This same variable is included in other labels on the dialog (we use out-of-the-box dialogs) and those labels do not double-up the product name.

I thought that perhaps it was a result of upgrading an older project, so I created a new project (simple .NET Setup), accepted all the defaults for Names, etc.. When I built and ran that Wizard, I got the same result - the Product Name was doubled-up on the wizard caption with dialogs I had not modified in any way.

So I'm not seeing the behavior you describe above where the caption is "$TITLE$ - InstallAware Wizard", it's just "$TITLE" and the result is "<TITLE><TITLE> - InstallAware Wizard" at runtime.

I did find that if I include the MYAHLOGO code, to turn off branding, then I do just get a single instance of TITLE in the wizard caption (and no branding) - which is what I'm going to have to do until this is resolved.

Regards,

- Aaron.

giaviv
Posts: 2039
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:39 pm

Re: Branding Removal in InstallAware 11

Postby giaviv » Fri Jun 17, 2011 10:58 am

Hey Aaron - I am unable to reproduce this - could you please send me a reproducing project to support at installaware.com?

Thank you!
Aviv Giladi
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Product Guides - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... guides.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

Aaron Young
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:54 pm

Re: Branding Removal in InstallAware 11

Postby Aaron Young » Fri Jun 17, 2011 11:22 am

I've just sent you the example project and a screen-shot of the result.

Thanks,

- Aaron.

giaviv
Posts: 2039
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:39 pm

Re: Branding Removal in InstallAware 11

Postby giaviv » Sat Jun 18, 2011 8:08 am

Thank you Aaron. This bug has been fixed - please regenerate, redownload and reinstall your license.
Aviv Giladi
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Product Guides - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... guides.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

Trusler
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 9:53 pm

Re: Branding Removal in InstallAware 11

Postby Trusler » Sun Dec 02, 2012 10:59 pm

giaviv wrote:Hey guys,

2) When you launch an InstallAware setup you will see a splash screen that is titled InstallAware Wizard. This string, again, has nothing to do with branding. Instead, its an installer shared string and can be edited by running the mTranslator.exe application from the InstallAware 11\trans dir. Use the tool to change the value of this string for the relevant language to whatever your would like.


Any suggestions on what to do when these strings must vary between IA projects? i.e. I want to replace InstallAware with text that includes product names which of course vary by product. So I don't want a single source for these translations, but a different set of translations for each project/product.

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5360
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Branding Removal in InstallAware 11

Postby FrancescoT » Mon Dec 03, 2012 9:54 am

Dear User,

I'm not quite sure if I follow your question, what do you mean with "different set of translations for each project/product"?

Are you refering on how to localize your project with different languages?

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

mehran
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 12:17 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Branding Removal in InstallAware 11

Postby mehran » Fri Apr 06, 2018 8:34 am

Hi guys,

As you know Shared Strings are not project specific.

I tried using variables in the strings to make them work for each project, but it does not seem to work:
"$TITLE$ is preparing the InstallAware Wizard..."

Is there a way to make the text in the initialization dialog project specific?

Thanks
Mehran Balaei
GE Digital Energy

mehran
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 12:17 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Branding Removal in InstallAware 11

Postby mehran » Fri Apr 06, 2018 12:31 pm

I understand that at the point that this dialog is being displayed, the project does not have access to variables, but it should be possible to use compiler variables here.

I tried using compiler variables, but they don't work either.

Is it possible for you to add support for compiler variables in the shared strings?
Mehran Balaei
GE Digital Energy


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 38 guests