Page 1 of 1

Patching

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:42 am
by jdeleon7010
Hello,

I would like to understand patching a bit more than what is described in the help file (which I have read).

I have an application that is built numerous times during the life cycle. We have the base install plus XX patches.

1. User runs the base install.
2. New build is released, user patches the install.
3. User tests on new machine (will he have to run the base + all patches? How do you bundle in patches into a single exe to catch all test cases, new and upgrade).

My goal is to be able to have 1 managed .exe that will cover base install + patch or patch only. Also where can I find the revision code number in my project?

Re: Patching

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:10 pm
by FrancescoT
Dear User,

the revision code is available with "Project Property" selecting the "Design" tab in InstallAware IDE.

The patch build includes only the binary difference of the project references involved with it.

If you have:

- Project 1 (base project)
- Project 2 (patch project)
- Project 3 (patch project)

The patch relation references will be:

- Project 1 - Base project - No references
- Project 2 - Patch project - Reference to Project 1 full build
- Project 3 - Patch project - Reference to Project 1 and Project 2 full build

With the above table;
if your user have Project 1 installed, you can execute Project 3 patch build to update to last version.
if your user does not have a previous version installed, you can execute Project 3 full build to update to last version.

Please also note;
The project name, Product code, Upgrade code and Version number, must be exactly identical in all patches projects
with that ones you used in your base project.
Patch project can be used for minimal modifications only. Project involved must keep the same logic flow.

Hope this helps you.

Regards

Re: Patching

Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 12:53 am
by pushpankar
hi ,
i test the same scenario with web update then it didn't work.
if have created the same scenario i have created three project as mentioned below,keeping version number ,product code,updatecode,product name same for all project

- Project 1 - Base project - No references
- Project 2 - Patch project - Reference to Project 1 full build
- Project 3 - Patch project - Reference to Project 1 and Project 2 full build

my Project 1 is installed at client system and at server i have kept Patch project - Reference to Project 1 full build,and client clicked on check for update, it successfully find the update and install it :)

now after this step i kept the Patch project - Reference to Project 1 and Project 2 full build at server,and now i clicked on checked for update it gives me message no update available . :cry:

Incremental patching with Web update not worked .

because i have released a build and now i just want to release patch for my released build
only first time my installed build detect patch through web update and again when i release a patch and keep the patch on server it gives me message no update available

Can u please send me a incremental patch example through web update.

looking for your respose eagerly as i am really stucked here :cry: and i need to release my 2nd patch for my installed build.....








FrancescoT wrote:Dear User,

the revision code is available with "Project Property" selecting the "Design" tab in InstallAware IDE.

The patch build includes only the binary difference of the project references involved with it.

If you have:

- Project 1 (base project)
- Project 2 (patch project)
- Project 3 (patch project)

The patch relation references will be:

- Project 1 - Base project - No references
- Project 2 - Patch project - Reference to Project 1 full build
- Project 3 - Patch project - Reference to Project 1 and Project 2 full build

With the above table;
if your user have Project 1 installed, you can execute Project 3 patch build to update to last version.
if your user does not have a previous version installed, you can execute Project 3 full build to update to last version.

Please also note;
The project name, Product code, Upgrade code and Version number, must be exactly identical in all patches projects
with that ones you used in your base project.
Patch project can be used for minimal modifications only. Project involved must keep the same logic flow.

Hope this helps you.

Regards

Re: Patching

Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 9:56 am
by FrancescoT
Dear Pushpankar,

I don't think that problem you have it is related to the patch itself by on how you are handling the update through your web server.

I have already sent you a sample patch project which works correctly.

First you must identify where your problem resides.
Try to execute your patch by manually copying the package on the target computer.
If the patch works has expected, very probably the problem is with your download update process and not with the patch.

Regards