Project Properties | Product version as variable

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
mikKummerfeld
Posts: 252
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:07 am
Location: Konstanz, Germany
Contact:

Project Properties | Product version as variable

Postby mikKummerfeld » Fri Nov 02, 2012 7:41 am

Hello,

under properties there is a field for product version. We start our builds with miabuild and I need a way to set this field
with a variable. Can you tell me which one that is? Our product version is e.g 2.0.8.15767 and currently I always have to change this field manually.

If I know the variable, I can put a text file "pversion" unter SUPPORTFILES and in the code I will use "Read from text file" to set this version number.

Heiko
MIK
Kind regards

Heiko Kummerfeld
MIK GmbH

Setup developer for .NET BI Software (12 products)
Head of quality assurance
technical consultant

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5360
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable

Postby FrancescoT » Fri Nov 02, 2012 9:13 am

Dear Heiko,

please use the attached sample project.
This demostrates how to set TITLE & VERSION variables using a compiler variable.

Regards
Attachments
Title & version with a compiler variables.rar
(1.95 MiB) Downloaded 1120 times
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

mikKummerfeld
Posts: 252
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:07 am
Location: Konstanz, Germany
Contact:

Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable

Postby mikKummerfeld » Fri Nov 02, 2012 10:19 am

I cant do it like this. As I described I read our software version number from a text file which comes from our build server.
so I need to write this content to the variable in the code, not as compiler variable

EDIT: SOLVED but...how Can I show the Size in Program and funtions (system panel)

progfuncs.png
ProgFuncsSystemPanel
progfuncs.png (10.16 KiB) Viewed 23868 times
Kind regards

Heiko Kummerfeld
MIK GmbH

Setup developer for .NET BI Software (12 products)
Head of quality assurance
technical consultant

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5360
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable

Postby FrancescoT » Fri Nov 02, 2012 11:37 am

Dear Heiko,

Please refer to the following forum topic:
http://www.installaware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=8750

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

mikKummerfeld
Posts: 252
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:07 am
Location: Konstanz, Germany
Contact:

Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable

Postby mikKummerfeld » Fri Nov 02, 2012 7:28 pm

Other Problem:

Web-Updates dont work with that. My Product version is now #MIKVERSION'
and i entered this also in my web update application number.

updates.ini attached

how can i solve that ???
Attachments
updates.ini
(208 Bytes) Downloaded 716 times
Kind regards

Heiko Kummerfeld
MIK GmbH

Setup developer for .NET BI Software (12 products)
Head of quality assurance
technical consultant

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5360
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable

Postby FrancescoT » Mon Nov 05, 2012 11:24 am

Dear Heiko,

you must manually modify the update.ini entering the correct version you used with a specific build.

For example;
[Update Packs for Versions]
5.0.0.1=upgrade_one$NEWLINE$upgrade_two

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

mikKummerfeld
Posts: 252
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:07 am
Location: Konstanz, Germany
Contact:

Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable

Postby mikKummerfeld » Tue Nov 06, 2012 2:42 am

That is bad. Can we not resolve #MIKVERSION' correctly ?
Kind regards

Heiko Kummerfeld
MIK GmbH

Setup developer for .NET BI Software (12 products)
Head of quality assurance
technical consultant

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5360
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable

Postby FrancescoT » Tue Nov 06, 2012 1:33 pm

I'm sorry but actually doesn't exist any other possibility with IA.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

martin.soland_optima
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 7:56 am

Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable

Postby martin.soland_optima » Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:38 am

Dear All,

I wrote you beacuse in this moment i'm facing the same problem as Mr. Heiko.
I need to read my project version number (Product Version) from a text file and set it to a variable in the code in order to have in Add/Remove Programs the product version read from the txt, but i can't find the way to doing this.
I made a working similar for the Product Name:

Read from Text File C:\Documentation\Installazione\TEST\TEST.txt into Variable PRODUCTNAME
Set Variable TITLE to $PRODUCTNAME$

I saw that it is possible to set in the filed "Product Version" a compiler variable for example "#MYVERSION#" and then define its value in "Project Options>Compiler Variables", but it doesn't matter how many times i tried, i can't tell Installaware to read this value from a txt file, and it should be better if it could be something runtime and not to be build each time i want to change this value.

I read that Mr. Heiko solved this issue but unfortunately he didn't say how and i saw the sample project you've attached but it can't help me.

Could you please help me?

Thank you and Regards

Martin Soland
Technical Support
Optima S.r.l

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5360
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable

Postby FrancescoT » Thu Sep 05, 2013 9:02 am

Dear Martin,

I can only say that it is not possible to assign the VERSION value at runtime ... it can be assigned at compile time only.

This because that value must be part of the MSI database otherwise the MSI engine doesn't generate the package and consequently, the IA IDE compiler will fail.

This is a MSI DB engine rule!

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

mikKummerfeld
Posts: 252
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:07 am
Location: Konstanz, Germany
Contact:

Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable

Postby mikKummerfeld » Thu Sep 05, 2013 9:38 am

the version number of the text file should be read and saved when I build the project...that would be nice...

But I solved it like that..read the version number in batch from text file...assign the version as parameter from miabuild
and in the product version field in GUI i set #MIKVERSION#...it works

Addiotionally I add our text file as SUPPORTFILE...so I can ask for it at runtime

I do that in every of our 26 Setups

parameter.jpg
parameter.jpg (185.57 KiB) Viewed 22600 times


prodprop.jpg
prodprop.jpg (43.06 KiB) Viewed 22600 times
Kind regards

Heiko Kummerfeld
MIK GmbH

Setup developer for .NET BI Software (12 products)
Head of quality assurance
technical consultant


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 52 guests