Page 1 of 1

NewState parameter

Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 2:59 pm
by markm
this is probably because i'm only a c++ novice, but i'm confused on the NewState parameter. the c++ plug-in template produces this prototype:

Code: Select all

int WINAPI DesignTimeEdit(
        int Window,
        const char* State,
        const char* NewState
);


the docs say to copy my buffer to NewState on the second call, but how does one modify a const? i was only able to make this work by modifying the def to:

Code: Select all

int WINAPI DesignTimeEdit(
        int Window,
        const char* State,
        char* NewState
);


which works fine... but i was curious how you are able to make it work with the prototype provided... i asked some more knowledge programmers and they didn't understand it either so please enlighten us!

Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:49 pm
by sinan
This is certainly a bug in the template generated code. Thank you for pointing this out. I will have this corrected immediately. Your revised declaration is correct.

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 8:22 am
by Guest
Well at least that means I'm not as crazy as previously thought. It's also worth pointing out that the same declaration exists in the documentation (which is why I didn't think it was a mistake to begin with).

Thanks for the quick response!

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 5:45 pm
by sinan
Yes, both the documentation and the template project were wrong. Both have been fixed. Thanks for pointing this out :)