EditFile plugin

Interested in developing new plug-ins? Got one to share? Post here!
Dalli
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:42 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Unicode Problem

Postby Dalli » Tue Mar 04, 2008 9:39 am

Hello,
I have the same problem. When I use it with german Umlaute the special letters get lost. But the main problem is, that the whole apllication is not starting.
Is there an solution?
Thanks all for your help
Thomas
Regrads,

Dalli

Dalli
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:42 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Unicode Problem

Postby Dalli » Tue Mar 04, 2008 9:39 am

Hello,
I have the same problem. When I use it with german Umlaute the special letters get lost. But the main problem is, that the whole apllication is not starting.
Is there an solution?
Thanks all for your help
Thomas
Regrads,



Dalli

Dalli
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:42 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Unicode Problem

Postby Dalli » Tue Mar 04, 2008 9:40 am

Hello,
I have the same problem. When I use it with german Umlaute the special letters get lost. But the main problem is, that the whole apllication is not starting.
Is there an solution?
Thanks all for your help
Thomas
Regrads,



Dalli

Dalli
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:42 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Unicode Problem

Postby Dalli » Tue Mar 04, 2008 9:42 am

Hello,
I have the same problem. When I use it with german Umlaute the special letters get lost. But the main problem is, that the whole apllication is not starting.
Is there an solution?
Thanks all for your help
Thomas
Regrads,



Dalli

StyX
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:14 am
Location: Stavanger, Norway
Contact:

Postby StyX » Tue Jun 10, 2008 9:42 am

is it possible to use variables inside the plugin ?

IE:
Text file path: $TARGETDIR$\\PBMS52\\CpgManager.config
Find What: LOCALAPPDATA
Replace with: $EnvironmentVarStored$

is this the correct syntax to use or is it even possible ?

Damocles
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 7:41 am

Postby Damocles » Tue Jul 01, 2008 1:24 am

Yes it is.

But i have another problem, when i edit a file on a certain 'drive' (doesn't matter if it's an actual harddrive oder network drive) it edits it fine.

But when i refer to the file as \\\\server\\dir\\dir\\file.txt
it wont't work. so my input is:

edit file $targetdir$\\config.cfg

U:\\ refers to \\\\server\\usernamewhen i use $targetdir$=U it works
with targetdir = \\\\server\\username\\ it doesn't

is there a way to solve this?

Tiago
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 9:08 am

Postby Tiago » Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:41 pm

I installed the plugin to help me with an ongoing project, but now the build is failing (Error during build: Failed to compile plug-in action: EditFile).

Would rewrite the project from scratch help me in some sort of way?
Thanks in advance.

Tiago
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 9:08 am

Postby Tiago » Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:14 pm

No. I started from scratch, but still it didn't work. Is there some compatibility issue between this plugin and the most recent version of InstallAware? Is there any other command I could use to replace a token in a XML file?

Thanks in advance again [:P]

Tiago
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 9:08 am

Postby Tiago » Wed Jul 01, 2009 7:05 am

Here is the new version of the EditFile plugin updated for IA9: http://www.installaware.com/forums/oldattachments/011620091357/Camelot-InstallAware-Plugins.exe

bmills42
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 2:26 pm

Postby bmills42 » Mon Nov 02, 2009 1:07 pm

Thanks for this plug-in. It's exactly what I needed to replace a value in my app's config file.

marcra
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:04 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: EditFile plugin

Postby marcra » Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:23 am

I am trying to get the updated plug in for IA9 but the link http://www.installaware.com/forums/file ... lugins.exe just returns me to the IA home page. Is there a problem or has this file moved?

Thanks in advance
MRA
Regards
Marc Roberts-Allday

marcra
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 12:04 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: EditFile plugin

Postby marcra » Thu Apr 01, 2010 6:27 am

The latest version I have is marked as 4.1.0.2005. This verion, when compiling either single file or CD, gives me the build error 'Error during build: Failed to compile plug-in action: EditFile'
Regards
Marc Roberts-Allday

MichaelNesmith
Posts: 3452
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: EditFile plugin

Postby MichaelNesmith » Wed Apr 28, 2010 9:03 pm

Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

MichaelNesmith
Posts: 3452
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: EditFile plugin

Postby MichaelNesmith » Wed Apr 28, 2010 10:00 pm

The file is correct, but I guess some ISPs are causing trouble due to caching. So I have renamed the download:

http://www.installaware.com/Camelot-Ins ... Proper.exe

Enjoy!
Michael Nesmith

InstallAware

Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer

Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

sdeschenes
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 3:34 pm

Re: EditFile plugin

Postby sdeschenes » Thu May 06, 2010 7:56 am

zchris,

Have you thought about adding Unicode support to your EditFile plugin? This would be really useful.


Return to “Plug-In Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest