Dotnet plugin: What is this variable used for?

Interested in developing new plug-ins? Got one to share? Post here!
bokkie
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:30 am

Dotnet plugin: What is this variable used for?

Postby bokkie » Sat Nov 10, 2012 4:19 am

The plugin method RunTimeExecute has seven parameters. In particular the fifth parameter is ref Int32 meaning it's my option if I want to set a new value when the method returns. Don't confuse this with the return value of the method itself. There's nothing documented to say what that fifth parameter is used for. I tried an experiment.

When my plugin's RunTimeExecute is called I extract the variable name from the third parameter called state. I then expand the second parameter variables into an array. I then loop through all the variable names and see if one has been previously defined for the one I have in state. This immediately tells me if the variable has been previously defined using a Set Variable statement in the MSIcode. If it has the plugin code does what's needed and returns the value into the variable.

If the variable name hasn't been defined then there's no point wasting time doing anything further in the plugin as there's nowhere to return the value to.

This got me thinking that perhaps the fifth parameter is used to let the bridge and IA know that something isn't right so I set its value to -1 thinking it might do something. But it looks like it doesn't do anything because the bridge makes the second call to RunTimeExecute as normal.

I'd like to think the fifth parameter is used for something but I can't see what it might be used for. Any ideas?
Peter. Smartly dressed, he still resembles an unmade bed.
InstallAware MVP

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5360
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Dotnet plugin: What is this variable used for?

Postby FrancescoT » Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:22 pm

Dear Bokkie,

that parameter is reserverd and it is set to 0 and It should not be used.
If have a look at Plugin Development section with IA documentation for the function "RunTimeExecute", that corresponds at the fifth parameter as well with the standard SDK specifications.

Hope this helps
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

bokkie
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:30 am

Re: Dotnet plugin: What is this variable used for?

Postby bokkie » Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:27 pm

Francesco, thanks for the help. I didn't know the methods were defined in the help and what I've read has confirmed much of what I've learned about the Dotnet plugin through my own investigation. Probably tomorrow I'd like to send my plugin to you to test. It's not intended to be used as an actual plugin (although it could be) but more to use it as a how-to reference. What email address can I use to send it to you for a quick inspection?
Peter. Smartly dressed, he still resembles an unmade bed.
InstallAware MVP

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 5360
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Dotnet plugin: What is this variable used for?

Postby FrancescoT » Tue Nov 13, 2012 12:05 pm

Dear Bokkie,

please use support@installaware.com ... don't worry I will not miss it.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

bokkie
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:30 am

Re: Dotnet plugin: What is this variable used for?

Postby bokkie » Tue Nov 13, 2012 12:09 pm

Thanks. It's on its way to you in a few minutes.
Peter. Smartly dressed, he still resembles an unmade bed.
InstallAware MVP


Return to “Plug-In Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 47 guests