InstallAware Manuals?

For all your non-technical questions.
jonmach

InstallAware Manuals?

Postby jonmach » Tue Jul 01, 2008 8:16 am

Hi all,

This is almost an embarassing question, but I cannot find the user guides for InstallAware. Someone please tell me they're in directory X, Y, or Z.

I appreciate the the product is supposed to be fairly simple to use, but it can't be that simple. Where are guides on install scripts etc.

I am a complete novice to InstallAware, so obviously I am going to need as much reference information as possible.

Any help appreciated...

CandiceJones

Postby CandiceJones » Tue Jul 01, 2008 10:49 am

Press F1 anywhere in the IDE for context sensitive help.

For conceptual information, please visit the Publications | Whitepapers page of our website.
Candice Jones
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

jonmach

Postby jonmach » Wed Jul 02, 2008 2:49 am

Prior to posting my question, I did look at the white papers, and also went through the IDE help.

The IDE help does to be fair provide reference, I can still find no real comprehensive guide on how to script, how to provide flow between dialogs, or how to code a SQL server setup.

There are sample scripts, and projects but what you're asking the user here is to reverse engineer *how* these came to be built.

Have I missed something?

CandiceJones

Postby CandiceJones » Wed Jul 02, 2008 6:58 am

The script is straightforward enough to be read and understood with a rudimentary knowledge of English. You'll of course have to spend time in either the code editor tweaking things or the visual designers if you don't want to mess with code. I don't see where reverse engineering fits in this. If you've read our whitepapers and taken a look at the script and still don't get it, InstallAware probably is not for you.
Candice Jones

InstallAware

TheVman

Postby TheVman » Fri Aug 01, 2008 5:44 am