\"MS SQL Server\" command - Server and Instance

For all your non-technical questions.
CandiceJones
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:03 pm
Contact:

Postby CandiceJones » Mon Aug 18, 2008 10:40 am

That's great to know! Thanks for sharing :D
Candice Jones
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

tie_gerben
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:42 am

Detect MS SQL Instances : '' is not a valid integer value

Postby tie_gerben » Thu Dec 04, 2008 7:19 am

When I run the script Detect MS SQL Instances , it pops up a messagebos with '' is not a valid integer value.

So, has anyone found a solution to the original stated problem of this thread?:

sgolba wrote: it's displaying an error dialog while the "Looking for Servers" dialog displays. The error dialog states:

Runtime error in setup script:
Line 38: '' is not a valid integer value



I've bought the Install Aware Studio v8, and my script has run fine on Windows XP and Windows server 2003. This error pops up on a 2003.

Perhaps unrelated, but when I check the Vista User Account Control Elevation on the Application Requirements, the installer shows a messagebox that This product requires at least User Account Control Elevation, .... on Windows 2003.

CandiceJones
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:03 pm
Contact:

Postby CandiceJones » Fri Dec 05, 2008 6:41 am

We're unable to reproduce that issue at our end, do you have any specific configuration instructions for it? Perhaps you can upload a VM which exhibits this behavior - PM me for our FTP server upload details.

As for your second question, as already documented in the help file, that option explicitly checks for UAC elevation, which is available only on Vista. You might therefore want to wrap that code inside the MSIcode editor around another block which checks whether the OS is Vista or newer, and that will take care of it.
Candice Jones

InstallAware

Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer

Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

gls
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:08 pm

is not a valid integer number

Postby gls » Tue Apr 07, 2009 11:28 pm

We also have this error of "Detect MS SQL Instances" plugin command on one of machines.

IMHO the it is not a big problem that due to some reason in some circumstances it cannot properly detect some SQL Instances. Such things happen.

The REAL problem is that the command is unsafe and crashes entire installation process. Whereas it should simply return an empty list of instances in case of a trouble.

Is there a fix or any workaround availble?

Thanks

CandiceJones
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:03 pm
Contact:

Postby CandiceJones » Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:04 am

Please contact me privately to test a fixed version. Thank you.
Candice Jones

InstallAware

Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer

Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

etedali
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 5:18 am

Re:can't connect to Db

Postby etedali » Wed Jan 22, 2014 5:41 am

Darren wrote:Hi Candace,

Thanks for the replay. It is good to know someone will reply.

Actually I figured out the problem and the first post on this thread had the hints to solve the problem. You might pass on that there is a problem with the Sample Project "SQL Server Connection". In the MSIcode on line 72 the SELECTEDSERVER variable is split into SERVERNAME AND INSTANCENAME. Right after that, if INSTANCENAME is blank it is set to "EXPRESS". For SQL2005, INSTANCENAME will almost always be blank and setting INSTANCENAME to "EXPRESS" means you won't connect. Once I changed INSTANCENAME to stay blank if it was blank then the sample project connects just fine.

Hope this helps others trying this. Eval is looking good so far.

Thanks,
Darren


sorry I cant't to connect to Db,can you help me what i must put in Instance?

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4846
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: \"MS SQL Server\" command - Server and Instance

Postby FrancescoT » Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:05 pm

Dear User,

you should simply enter the MS SQL Instance name and this depends on the MS SQL instance you are trying to connect to.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

etedali
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 5:18 am

can not connect to db in Sql Server 2008

Postby etedali » Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:49 am

Hi All :cry: :cry:
i want to connect to db that i create in sql server 2008 ,i first click on SQL Database in Server Configuration, and then click new and choose MS SQL script,but i don't jnow but i must write in INSTANCE,
my install can't connect to db,plz help me
thanks
best Regards

etedali
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 5:18 am

Re: \"MS SQL Server\" command - Server and Instance

Postby etedali » Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:51 am

FrancescoT wrote:Dear User,

you should simply enter the MS SQL Instance name and this depends on the MS SQL instance you are trying to connect to.

Regards



thanks for your answer FrancescoT
how can i understand what is my instance :?: ?

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4846
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: \"MS SQL Server\" command - Server and Instance

Postby FrancescoT » Mon Jan 27, 2014 1:08 pm

Dear User,

You could use the "Detect MS SQL Instances" command in your script ... for a list of all available Instances on target system.
Please refer to IA documentation for more details.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE


Return to “Non-Technical”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests