Page 1 of 1

Problem in version 7.01

Posted: Sun Jul 22, 2007 5:53 pm
by SteveDude
I've tried this with a couple of different installs with the same results.

When I set Registry entries to permanent it has no effect. When the app is uninstalled the entries are removed. This is even the case when I do a new version of that app and when the pre-req's state the old version needs uninstalled.

In 6.6 this worked fine and it is a big bummer that it no longer works in 7.01. The information I am leaving in the registry is basic customer information that can automatically repopulate the user information form when the software is reintsalled.

Posted: Sun Jul 22, 2007 6:07 pm
by MichaelNesmith
None of this behavior was changed between 6.6 and 7.01 (7.1 doesn't exist yet, by the way).

hmmm....

Posted: Sun Jul 22, 2007 8:47 pm
by SteveDude
Sorry got the version wrong...but something had to change. I first noticed from an installer that was opened and recompiled in 7.01. Thought it was a fluke install so redid the box...same results. Old build works fine.

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2007 5:18 am
by MichaelNesmith
I'm unable to reproduce this, I created a simple setup in v7 with two registry keys - one permanent and the other not - they behaved exactly as expected.

Problem specifics found...

Posted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 7:46 am
by SteveDude
Finally figured out what was happening with this...

For some reason older project files when opened into 7 are not reseting all Registry entries to permanent, even though they were in earlier projects. I have several entries that require this situation. Some are saved and some are not.

If I go and reset the all the flags and then immediately build the project and then close IA afterwards, some are saved some are not. This is happening in the latest build of 7. If I save and then build some stick, some do not. I had to do a save and build 3 times, closing IA and the reopening IA after each build to finally get them all to stick.

I am having another issue in v7 that has persisted since 6.5, more of an annoyance than anything. Canceling a build on larger project files (Compressed result 60MB and larger) sometimes require me to kill the process and then reboot the machine to be able to rebuild the project, as it will just stop in execess of 20 minutes (haven't waited any longer than that.