Page 1 of 1

Difference between MAINTENANCE and NEEDSUPGRADE

Posted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 4:02 pm
by soeinz
Hi,

In the help file the descriptions of the NEEDSUPGRADE and MAINTENANCE pre-defined variables are:

MAINTENANCE=Initially TRUE if application has been installed before
NEEDSUPGRADE: TRUE if a previous version of the product was found

So can someone explain the difference to me.

Thanks.

Posted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 8:00 pm
by Gizm0
MAINTENACE turns into TRUE when a you click at the "Add/Remove" button.
NEEDSUPRADE turns into TRUE, when a new setup is trying to be installed with the same ProductCode but with a different revision code.

Posted: Wed Oct 31, 2007 8:59 pm
by swarovski
Gizm0 wrote:MAINTENACE turns into TRUE when a you click at the "Add/Remove" button.
NEEDSUPRADE turns into TRUE, when a new setup is trying to be installed with the same ProductCode but with a different revision code.
Is there a variable available that like NEEDUPGRADE turns into TRUE only that the Setup.exe version is higher than the installed version?

Currently, I have to check it manually.

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 9:19 am
by Gizm0
If you change your version number, you should also change your revision code (InstallAware does this by Default). You don't need to check it manually.

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 8:48 pm
by swarovski
Yes, but it still allow a user to proceed 1.0 installation even the current installed version is 1.1.

Currently I have to manually check this to prevent...

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:41 am
by Gizm0
Well, i guess if someone tries to install a previous version for a reason, you should allow him to. That's my opinion of course.

Maintenance

Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 6:36 am
by TMacy
Uh... we put CD's out every quarter. We have an unbelievable number of customers that "loose" their most current CD... and then think the need to reinstall, so will try to use an older CD. Maybe you have customers that have a valid reason to install an older version. Ours just do it by mistake.

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 10:40 am
by Chris Miller
You could write a version number to the registry at install time and check against that version when installing over an existing version. If the new version is older than the existing version, you would display an error dialog and terminate the install.

Personally, I think the default behavior should be to disallow installs of previous versions over newer ones, but it's easy enough to code that rule in.

Chris Miller
VersaTrans Solutions

Yep

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 10:44 am
by TMacy
Yes... that's what we did last week. Looks like it should work.

Thanks!