Page 1 of 1

Desktop shortcuts stay after uninstall

Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:03 pm
by Mateo
When I install my application on one user and then uninstall on another the desktop icons do not get deleted like they should. Strangely enough, the start menu shortcuts get deleted. Both accounts are administrators so they should both have sufficient privileges to uninstall.
Has anyone had this happen to them? What is the expected functionality when a user other than the one that installed the application uninstalls it?

Thanks!

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2007 1:09 pm
by sdeschenes
Under the Setup Globals section, double-click the line that says Get Folder Location System -> Desktop Directory and select the checkbox that says Get for All Users (if applicable). This will fix the problem of icons being left on the desktop when a user (other than the original user) uninstalls the application.

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2007 1:58 pm
by Alex_Ronquillo
Thanks sdeschenes for answering this. That is the right way to go.