rolling back an uninstall prereqsuisite
Posted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 1:12 pm
Our software test just reported the following case:
1. Our program is already installed on a system.
2. The user installs an upgraded version.
3. InstallAware performs an uninstall as a prerequisite.
4. During the installation of the update, something happens to cause a failure.
5. the install rolls back.
Once the rollback has occurred, the previously installed program is no longer present. While this makes sense to me, it would appear that Microsoft is indicating that the system should be rolled back to the same state that existed before the updated installer was run.
Could anyone provide additional information on this?
1. Our program is already installed on a system.
2. The user installs an upgraded version.
3. InstallAware performs an uninstall as a prerequisite.
4. During the installation of the update, something happens to cause a failure.
5. the install rolls back.
Once the rollback has occurred, the previously installed program is no longer present. While this makes sense to me, it would appear that Microsoft is indicating that the system should be rolled back to the same state that existed before the updated installer was run.
Could anyone provide additional information on this?