Revision Code not renewing when installing for another user
Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:32 am
Here is the scenario:
I have created two users, both admins. For the first user, I install for the Current User. I, then, switch to the second user and install for All Users. Next, I switch to the first user and uninstall the Current User installation. During the uninstall, content that was installed for All Users, not the Current User, gets deleted. And when I try to uninstall the All Users installation, I get a message saying that it might have already been uninstalled.
I noticed that the Revision code for both installations was the same. Shouldn't they be different?
Also, I noticed that when I ran the uninstaller for the Current Users, the ALLUSERS variable was set to TRUE. It should be set to FALSE since I am running the Current User uninstaller. Is this because I ran the installation for All Users after installing for the Current User? This doesn't happen if both installations are performed while logged in as one user.
I have created two users, both admins. For the first user, I install for the Current User. I, then, switch to the second user and install for All Users. Next, I switch to the first user and uninstall the Current User installation. During the uninstall, content that was installed for All Users, not the Current User, gets deleted. And when I try to uninstall the All Users installation, I get a message saying that it might have already been uninstalled.
I noticed that the Revision code for both installations was the same. Shouldn't they be different?
Also, I noticed that when I ran the uninstaller for the Current Users, the ALLUSERS variable was set to TRUE. It should be set to FALSE since I am running the Current User uninstaller. Is this because I ran the installation for All Users after installing for the Current User? This doesn't happen if both installations are performed while logged in as one user.