Switch from Single File to Web Deploy and now slower
Posted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 7:24 pm
Hi
I took the recommendation for this switch so that users will be able to patch easier in the future (not have to look for original media/download) and switched from Single File to Web Deploy, but only have one block so it is still one file.
I see the exact same behavior as with the Single file with one exception.
1. Decompress File - 35 sec
2. Prepare Wizard - 2 sec
3. Wizard comes up
1. Decompress File - 35 sec
2. Prepare wizard - 2 sec
3.5 - Nothing shows - 50 sec
3. Wizard comes up
As you can see, It looks pretty bad to the end user if the uncompress takes 35 sec and then (I am assuming this) a copy takes 50 sec. Also there is no status during this. The only way you can tell it's running is because I can hear the hard drive churning. All screens are gone.
Is there any way around this. I would really like to use the Web Deploy option so that the user would not have to search for original install in order to upgrade, patch, etc.
Even to bring up the first dialog box and have the user interact with the install while it is copying would be OK.
Any suggestions would be great.
Thanks
Colin
I took the recommendation for this switch so that users will be able to patch easier in the future (not have to look for original media/download) and switched from Single File to Web Deploy, but only have one block so it is still one file.
I see the exact same behavior as with the Single file with one exception.
1. Decompress File - 35 sec
2. Prepare Wizard - 2 sec
3. Wizard comes up
1. Decompress File - 35 sec
2. Prepare wizard - 2 sec
3.5 - Nothing shows - 50 sec
3. Wizard comes up
As you can see, It looks pretty bad to the end user if the uncompress takes 35 sec and then (I am assuming this) a copy takes 50 sec. Also there is no status during this. The only way you can tell it's running is because I can hear the hard drive churning. All screens are gone.
Is there any way around this. I would really like to use the Web Deploy option so that the user would not have to search for original install in order to upgrade, patch, etc.
Even to bring up the first dialog box and have the user interact with the install while it is copying would be OK.
Any suggestions would be great.
Thanks
Colin