Unwanted reboot on Modify / Repair
Posted: Tue May 26, 2009 9:43 am
We have a very simple installation, three files are installed.
All goes well, the first time.
If our customer for some reason runs the setup file again, she/he is presented with two options:
- Modify Available Options
- Repair Application
Regardless of what option the user will choose, the installer forces a reboot of the machine with no warning, no option to do it later. By the way, our setups have no features, so there is nothing to select from. But clicking "Next" forces the reboot.
Now, choosing Repair Application is even more dramatic, when the user clicks the "Next"-button, the machine reboots immediately.
We cannot live with this - what to do?
ingvarius
All goes well, the first time.
If our customer for some reason runs the setup file again, she/he is presented with two options:
- Modify Available Options
- Repair Application
Regardless of what option the user will choose, the installer forces a reboot of the machine with no warning, no option to do it later. By the way, our setups have no features, so there is nothing to select from. But clicking "Next" forces the reboot.
Now, choosing Repair Application is even more dramatic, when the user clicks the "Next"-button, the machine reboots immediately.
We cannot live with this - what to do?
ingvarius