Page 1 of 1
Previous Version Uninstallation Warning?
Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 6:18 pm
by pointeman
I have two different products that I would like to install in the same company directory on the end users computer, like:
Program Files\\my company\\program1
Program Files\\my company\\program2
I recieve the "Previous Version Uninstallation Warning?" when beginning to install the second product on the same pc.
Q. What can I do to make this work correctly?
Posted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 1:54 am
by MikeOnline
Be sure each program uses a unique PRODUCT CODE (a GUID).
Once unique product codes are established, keep them (jot them down somewhere). These Product Codes should remain unchanged throughout the life of the given application, even as you build new versions. This allows for a previous version to be uninstalled as you install the newer version.
You'll also need to generate a REVISION CODE for each app. The Revision Code is also a GUID. It should be re-generated to a new GUID each time you build. If you build from a script or via the command line using miabuild.exe, there's a command line parameter to force a new revision code in the build you're creating (though I am experiencing a little trouble with this at the moment).
If you install program A version 1, then install Program A version 2, the matching PRODUCT CODE and dissimilar REVISION CODE tells the installer that you're about to install a newer version of the same program, and you'll be prompted to uninstall Program A v1 just before v2 gets installed.
If you install Program A version 1, then install Program B version 1, you'll not see an uninstallation prompt, because the two programs are independent of each other, so long as they each have different Product Codes.
- Michael
Posted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 10:21 am
by pointeman
Ok, makes perfect sense. I reused a project for a new product, so the 'Product Code' was not unique. I have since generated a new, unique Product Code for our new product. Thanks so much...