Installing new without uninstalling old
Posted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:34 am
When an older install already exists and we want to install a new version of our software, InstallAwares (windows installer api?) default behavior seems to be to force an uninstall of the old installation before proceeding.
Is there anyway to not have this behavior? We want the old installation to remain and have newer files simply overwrite the older. We want this because of user-edited ini-files that should usually remain untouched.
we can't use "Newer overwrite" since on rare occasions they should be replaced. Historically (ie. not InstallAware) we have used doctored created/modified dates to determine if to replace a file or not.
Our own attempts to remove the uninstallation have only resulted in removing ALL uninstallation functionality.
Is there anyway to not have this behavior? We want the old installation to remain and have newer files simply overwrite the older. We want this because of user-edited ini-files that should usually remain untouched.
we can't use "Newer overwrite" since on rare occasions they should be replaced. Historically (ie. not InstallAware) we have used doctored created/modified dates to determine if to replace a file or not.
Our own attempts to remove the uninstallation have only resulted in removing ALL uninstallation functionality.