Changing product version # can force upgrades to fail
Posted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 10:27 am
If I change the product version # in the installer, performing an upgrade on a previously released version of the same installer prompts a message saying "The feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is unavailable." The message then proceeds to instruct me to click OK to try again or enter an alternative path to the folder containing the installation package. When I select Cancel on this message, the installer continues to execute commands and then fails.
Why would changing the version # have this kind of effect on an upgrade?
I have encountered this issue in the past and the only way to resolve it is to create a brand new installer project. I have multiple install projects, so I shouldn't have to create new installer projects if I want to change the product version #.
Why would changing the version # have this kind of effect on an upgrade?
I have encountered this issue in the past and the only way to resolve it is to create a brand new installer project. I have multiple install projects, so I shouldn't have to create new installer projects if I want to change the product version #.