Copy Options -Never Overwrite and Permanent File
Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 2:58 pm
Hi IA Gurus,
I am having some frustrating problems with the 'Install Files UI. Specifically the 'Never Overwrite' and 'Permanent File' options found in the 'Copy Options' frame of the 'Install Files' UI.
No matter what I do, the 'Never Overwrite' and 'Permanent File' options simply do not work. I have looked way back to 2004 for all of the posts on this and the issue has always been a problem for users. It seems as though it has never been addressed. In fact the help file in Version 11 has absolutely no mention of the 'Never Overwrite' or 'Permanent File' options and therefore the IA Help document is utterly useless in terms of gaining insight into how these features should work.
Since this has been a documented problem issue for more than 7 years (!), I am wondering if the problem is a basic lack of understanding as to how these two features operate.
Let me lay the groundwork using an example;
A) Let's say that I created an installation project that installs two files called 'myapp.exe' (version 1) and 'database.mdb'. Since it is the first build and since it did not occur to me at the time, my install does not have the 'Never Overwrite' and 'Permanent File' options enabled for the 'database.exe' file.
B) Now let's say that I go back and update the project a year later now that version 2 of myapp.exe is ready for release. Of course, now with the benefit of hindsight I want to be smart and ensure that the 'database.mdb' file does not get deleted or overwritten since it contains a year's worth of customer data. In order to safeguard the 'database.mdb' file I now enable the 'Never Overwrite' and 'Permanent File' checkbox options. I enable both of these checkboxes since I know that InstallAware will anyways uninstall a project before installing the new update components in version 2 of my install. Doing this will ensure that the customer's 'database.mdb' is safe and will neither be removed during the uninstall nor will it be overwritten during the update install, right?.... HA! WRONG!!!
During the obligatory uninstall the 'database.mdb' gets uninstalled! AURGH!!! (yes, I know...not InstallAware's fault...its the stupid Microsoft Installer technology that IA has to deal with)
But wait a minute... I had the 'Permanent File' option enabled. What gives? Shouldn't that have done what the 'Permanent File' option name entails and protected my 'database.mdb' from being uninstalled? So now, hypothetically, a year's worth of customer data is lost...
Unfortunately, since the IA Help file offers no insight into how the 'Never Overwrite' and 'Permanent File' options work, I can't even make an educated guess as to where the problem lays, but I am wondering if the real issue is that the 'Never Overwrite' and 'Permanent File' options needed to be enabled in my very first install, (step 'A' above), for them to have the desired protective effect during subsequent update uninstalls/installs. Is is possible that enabling the 'Never Overwrite' and 'Permanent File' options in my version 2 installation (step 'B' above), is too late to have an effect on prior installs that were created without this option already having been enabled?
Perhaps this is not the case, but if it is, how can I deal with such a situation? Even better, InstallAware can you please deal with this problem programmatically since the posts dating back to 2004 show that this is a very much a real world issue that your customers have experienced and are still struggling with today?
Thanks in advance
-Steve
I am having some frustrating problems with the 'Install Files UI. Specifically the 'Never Overwrite' and 'Permanent File' options found in the 'Copy Options' frame of the 'Install Files' UI.
No matter what I do, the 'Never Overwrite' and 'Permanent File' options simply do not work. I have looked way back to 2004 for all of the posts on this and the issue has always been a problem for users. It seems as though it has never been addressed. In fact the help file in Version 11 has absolutely no mention of the 'Never Overwrite' or 'Permanent File' options and therefore the IA Help document is utterly useless in terms of gaining insight into how these features should work.
Since this has been a documented problem issue for more than 7 years (!), I am wondering if the problem is a basic lack of understanding as to how these two features operate.
Let me lay the groundwork using an example;
A) Let's say that I created an installation project that installs two files called 'myapp.exe' (version 1) and 'database.mdb'. Since it is the first build and since it did not occur to me at the time, my install does not have the 'Never Overwrite' and 'Permanent File' options enabled for the 'database.exe' file.
B) Now let's say that I go back and update the project a year later now that version 2 of myapp.exe is ready for release. Of course, now with the benefit of hindsight I want to be smart and ensure that the 'database.mdb' file does not get deleted or overwritten since it contains a year's worth of customer data. In order to safeguard the 'database.mdb' file I now enable the 'Never Overwrite' and 'Permanent File' checkbox options. I enable both of these checkboxes since I know that InstallAware will anyways uninstall a project before installing the new update components in version 2 of my install. Doing this will ensure that the customer's 'database.mdb' is safe and will neither be removed during the uninstall nor will it be overwritten during the update install, right?.... HA! WRONG!!!
During the obligatory uninstall the 'database.mdb' gets uninstalled! AURGH!!! (yes, I know...not InstallAware's fault...its the stupid Microsoft Installer technology that IA has to deal with)
But wait a minute... I had the 'Permanent File' option enabled. What gives? Shouldn't that have done what the 'Permanent File' option name entails and protected my 'database.mdb' from being uninstalled? So now, hypothetically, a year's worth of customer data is lost...
Unfortunately, since the IA Help file offers no insight into how the 'Never Overwrite' and 'Permanent File' options work, I can't even make an educated guess as to where the problem lays, but I am wondering if the real issue is that the 'Never Overwrite' and 'Permanent File' options needed to be enabled in my very first install, (step 'A' above), for them to have the desired protective effect during subsequent update uninstalls/installs. Is is possible that enabling the 'Never Overwrite' and 'Permanent File' options in my version 2 installation (step 'B' above), is too late to have an effect on prior installs that were created without this option already having been enabled?
Perhaps this is not the case, but if it is, how can I deal with such a situation? Even better, InstallAware can you please deal with this problem programmatically since the posts dating back to 2004 show that this is a very much a real world issue that your customers have experienced and are still struggling with today?
Thanks in advance
-Steve