Reinstall To Custom Location
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2011 7:54 am
Hi folks,
I've been looking at something that seems tricky: reinstalling to a custom location.
During our installation sequence, we allow the users to pick a custom location using the pre-defined "Destination" screen. During our Upgrade sequence, we do a full uninstall/reinstall using a new InstallAware built installer with the same GUID code. This means the end user goes through the uninstallation sequence, then a new installation sequence.
Is there any way to hand the target directory from the uninstallation sequence to the installation sequence? I can't imagine there is, but I wanted to check.
Thanks!
James
I've been looking at something that seems tricky: reinstalling to a custom location.
During our installation sequence, we allow the users to pick a custom location using the pre-defined "Destination" screen. During our Upgrade sequence, we do a full uninstall/reinstall using a new InstallAware built installer with the same GUID code. This means the end user goes through the uninstallation sequence, then a new installation sequence.
Is there any way to hand the target directory from the uninstallation sequence to the installation sequence? I can't imagine there is, but I wanted to check.
Thanks!
James