How to install to more than one folder...
Posted: Sun Dec 04, 2011 8:20 pm
Really three questions:
I want to install my application to one folder and than at a later date install to another folder and keep the first install intact. The installer version 10 seem to want the first install to be removed. Also the installer did not even show the destination dialogue on a second install. This is not what I want. How do I support installing to a second folder at a later date.
Also while testing this the installer for the above issue, it seem to replace existing exe files with older versions (newer versions of the exes were updated by other methods). Is this the correct action? I want to only replace files only if they have either a newer date or a newer version number. The older product had a setting for this feature right on the files screen.
One last question, I have a web install with 7zip files, after installing I disconnected the internet and it still was able to uninstall / re-install. I do not understand why the 7zip is buffered or how to prevent this. If I delete my hosted 7zip file that should prevent my customers future installs right?
Thanks.
I want to install my application to one folder and than at a later date install to another folder and keep the first install intact. The installer version 10 seem to want the first install to be removed. Also the installer did not even show the destination dialogue on a second install. This is not what I want. How do I support installing to a second folder at a later date.
Also while testing this the installer for the above issue, it seem to replace existing exe files with older versions (newer versions of the exes were updated by other methods). Is this the correct action? I want to only replace files only if they have either a newer date or a newer version number. The older product had a setting for this feature right on the files screen.
One last question, I have a web install with 7zip files, after installing I disconnected the internet and it still was able to uninstall / re-install. I do not understand why the 7zip is buffered or how to prevent this. If I delete my hosted 7zip file that should prevent my customers future installs right?
Thanks.