Modify Features
Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 12:30 pm
Hi,
I'm actually having an issue with my setup. I have an installer with 4 features installing one file each, and what i wanted to do is once the product is installed, change my product to add or remove features. The only thing regarding this is that if the feature was already installed, i don't want the setup to reinstall it.
All this seems to work BUT for an unknown reason, it removes the file associated to the feature that is already installed. When i'm checking if the feature is installed or not, I use the saved information that Save Features Selection gave me. If the feature is already installed the only thing i'm doing is to show a messagebox and use the Writelog command (This works!). There is no Delete files or anything that could possibly delete the file associated to the feature.
Even in debug mode, it goes wrong.
To make it clear, here is an example:
Feature A > install file A
Feature B> install file B
Run the setup with only feature A selected > everything works fine
Run the setup again
Choose modify
Select Feature B (leave Feature A selected)
Got a messagebox with "Feature A is already installed" and write in log file
Install file B
Finish
After that go to Targetdir and there's only file B the file A just disappeared.
Hope that you can help,
Regards
I'm actually having an issue with my setup. I have an installer with 4 features installing one file each, and what i wanted to do is once the product is installed, change my product to add or remove features. The only thing regarding this is that if the feature was already installed, i don't want the setup to reinstall it.
All this seems to work BUT for an unknown reason, it removes the file associated to the feature that is already installed. When i'm checking if the feature is installed or not, I use the saved information that Save Features Selection gave me. If the feature is already installed the only thing i'm doing is to show a messagebox and use the Writelog command (This works!). There is no Delete files or anything that could possibly delete the file associated to the feature.
Even in debug mode, it goes wrong.
To make it clear, here is an example:
Feature A > install file A
Feature B> install file B
Run the setup with only feature A selected > everything works fine
Run the setup again
Choose modify
Select Feature B (leave Feature A selected)
Got a messagebox with "Feature A is already installed" and write in log file
Install file B
Finish
After that go to Targetdir and there's only file B the file A just disappeared.
Hope that you can help,
Regards