Remove Maintenance-Mode
Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 4:30 am
EDIT:
I guess I found the thing I was looking for in the Help.
It's called "Transform Instance".
I let this topic opened. Maybe anyone can confirm my solution or gimme some tipps how to handle it in another way.
Hello,
Current case:
- I'm installing my Software via my MyInstallation.exe.
- Installation done
- Run the MyInstallation.exe again
- Now the maintenance opens.
But i want it to be like this:
- I'm installing my Software via my MyInstallation.exe.
- Installation done
- Run the MyInstallation.exe again
- The normal installation should be started.
But if i use the "Uninstall"-Shortcut which is found in the Startmenu it should start the uninstallation. As well as when I use it in the system control-> programms and features -> Uninstall.
How can i do this?
Is there an option or do i have to script it? If i have to do it via script, how can i differ whether he started the setup again or pressed the uninstall-button?
2.:
I installed my program. Now i change something in my setup, build a new setup file. If i run this new setup file it automatically starts to uninstall my previous installation. I don't want it to do that.
How can i disable that?
3.:
If i use the "change installation"-option it asks for the original installation ressources (as far as i don't start it with the original .exe).
But in this dialog the user have to point to the extracted temp files instead of the .exe. That's not nice. A customer, which just wants to use this program, doesn't know how to find these files.
Is there any other solution?
Thanks in advance!
Regards
Feyh
I guess I found the thing I was looking for in the Help.
It's called "Transform Instance".
I let this topic opened. Maybe anyone can confirm my solution or gimme some tipps how to handle it in another way.
Hello,
Current case:
- I'm installing my Software via my MyInstallation.exe.
- Installation done
- Run the MyInstallation.exe again
- Now the maintenance opens.
But i want it to be like this:
- I'm installing my Software via my MyInstallation.exe.
- Installation done
- Run the MyInstallation.exe again
- The normal installation should be started.
But if i use the "Uninstall"-Shortcut which is found in the Startmenu it should start the uninstallation. As well as when I use it in the system control-> programms and features -> Uninstall.
How can i do this?
Is there an option or do i have to script it? If i have to do it via script, how can i differ whether he started the setup again or pressed the uninstall-button?
2.:
I installed my program. Now i change something in my setup, build a new setup file. If i run this new setup file it automatically starts to uninstall my previous installation. I don't want it to do that.
How can i disable that?
3.:
If i use the "change installation"-option it asks for the original installation ressources (as far as i don't start it with the original .exe).
But in this dialog the user have to point to the extracted temp files instead of the .exe. That's not nice. A customer, which just wants to use this program, doesn't know how to find these files.
Is there any other solution?
Thanks in advance!
Regards
Feyh