Remembering settings during previous version uninstall
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2012 2:20 am
Hi,
I have a problem that I am hoping someone can solve for me.
During the installation process a user has to enter a number of settings including the location for install and the account and password in which to run a service.
When a user runs a newer version of the installer they are prompted to allow the uninstall of the previous version. They are then taken to the new installer pages and asked for the settings to be entered again. I need these settings to be remembered.
After a lot of trial and error I have this working using "Save Feature Selections" and "Load Feature Selections" however to use this functionality you need to save the information into a file. This is not secure for account and password information.
Does anyone know of a way to store these settings securely or is there a better way of remembering the settings.
Thanks in advance
Peter
I have a problem that I am hoping someone can solve for me.
During the installation process a user has to enter a number of settings including the location for install and the account and password in which to run a service.
When a user runs a newer version of the installer they are prompted to allow the uninstall of the previous version. They are then taken to the new installer pages and asked for the settings to be entered again. I need these settings to be remembered.
After a lot of trial and error I have this working using "Save Feature Selections" and "Load Feature Selections" however to use this functionality you need to save the information into a file. This is not secure for account and password information.
Does anyone know of a way to store these settings securely or is there a better way of remembering the settings.
Thanks in advance
Peter