Page 1 of 1

Web Update removes application

Posted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 10:20 pm
by defiant11
I sent an update that was a complete setup not a patch and the user had the application open while he was updating... the update didnt shut the program down and then deleted the whole install.

The program was completly removed from their system.

Could you advise how this would be avoided?

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 6:19 am
by Gizm0
You probably forgot to change the GUID. The new setup detected the old one, removed it and re-installed itself.

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 6:45 am
by defiant11
Is that the Revision Code or the product Code?

The product code was the same and i have the revision code changing on each build

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 6:58 am
by Gizm0
If the update you don't want to remove the old version and re-install it. You have to change your Product Code, so it will be treated like a new install from Windows Installer. Otherwise, having the same product code, it will find the old product and will update it. But if you have only changed 10 files in total of 20, the other 10 left, will be removed, as they don't exist in the latest version.