Hello,
under properties there is a field for product version. We start our builds with miabuild and I need a way to set this field
with a variable. Can you tell me which one that is? Our product version is e.g 2.0.8.15767 and currently I always have to change this field manually.
If I know the variable, I can put a text file "pversion" unter SUPPORTFILES and in the code I will use "Read from text file" to set this version number.
Heiko
MIK
Project Properties | Product version as variable
-
- Posts: 252
- Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:07 am
- Location: Konstanz, Germany
- Contact:
Project Properties | Product version as variable
Kind regards
Heiko Kummerfeld
MIK GmbH
Setup developer for .NET BI Software (12 products)
Head of quality assurance
technical consultant
Heiko Kummerfeld
MIK GmbH
Setup developer for .NET BI Software (12 products)
Head of quality assurance
technical consultant
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5361
- Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am
Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable
Dear Heiko,
please use the attached sample project.
This demostrates how to set TITLE & VERSION variables using a compiler variable.
Regards
please use the attached sample project.
This demostrates how to set TITLE & VERSION variables using a compiler variable.
Regards
- Attachments
-
- Title & version with a compiler variables.rar
- (1.95 MiB) Downloaded 1307 times
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
-
- Posts: 252
- Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:07 am
- Location: Konstanz, Germany
- Contact:
Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable
I cant do it like this. As I described I read our software version number from a text file which comes from our build server.
so I need to write this content to the variable in the code, not as compiler variable
EDIT: SOLVED but...how Can I show the Size in Program and funtions (system panel)
so I need to write this content to the variable in the code, not as compiler variable
EDIT: SOLVED but...how Can I show the Size in Program and funtions (system panel)
Kind regards
Heiko Kummerfeld
MIK GmbH
Setup developer for .NET BI Software (12 products)
Head of quality assurance
technical consultant
Heiko Kummerfeld
MIK GmbH
Setup developer for .NET BI Software (12 products)
Head of quality assurance
technical consultant
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5361
- Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am
Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable
Dear Heiko,
Please refer to the following forum topic:
http://www.installaware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=8750
Regards
Please refer to the following forum topic:
http://www.installaware.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=8750
Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
-
- Posts: 252
- Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:07 am
- Location: Konstanz, Germany
- Contact:
Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable
Other Problem:
Web-Updates dont work with that. My Product version is now #MIKVERSION'
and i entered this also in my web update application number.
updates.ini attached
how can i solve that ???
Web-Updates dont work with that. My Product version is now #MIKVERSION'
and i entered this also in my web update application number.
updates.ini attached
how can i solve that ???
- Attachments
-
- updates.ini
- (208 Bytes) Downloaded 892 times
Kind regards
Heiko Kummerfeld
MIK GmbH
Setup developer for .NET BI Software (12 products)
Head of quality assurance
technical consultant
Heiko Kummerfeld
MIK GmbH
Setup developer for .NET BI Software (12 products)
Head of quality assurance
technical consultant
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5361
- Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am
Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable
Dear Heiko,
you must manually modify the update.ini entering the correct version you used with a specific build.
For example;
[Update Packs for Versions]
5.0.0.1=upgrade_one$NEWLINE$upgrade_two
Regards
you must manually modify the update.ini entering the correct version you used with a specific build.
For example;
[Update Packs for Versions]
5.0.0.1=upgrade_one$NEWLINE$upgrade_two
Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
-
- Posts: 252
- Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:07 am
- Location: Konstanz, Germany
- Contact:
Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable
That is bad. Can we not resolve #MIKVERSION' correctly ?
Kind regards
Heiko Kummerfeld
MIK GmbH
Setup developer for .NET BI Software (12 products)
Head of quality assurance
technical consultant
Heiko Kummerfeld
MIK GmbH
Setup developer for .NET BI Software (12 products)
Head of quality assurance
technical consultant
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5361
- Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am
Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable
I'm sorry but actually doesn't exist any other possibility with IA.
Regards
Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2013 7:56 am
Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable
Dear All,
I wrote you beacuse in this moment i'm facing the same problem as Mr. Heiko.
I need to read my project version number (Product Version) from a text file and set it to a variable in the code in order to have in Add/Remove Programs the product version read from the txt, but i can't find the way to doing this.
I made a working similar for the Product Name:
Read from Text File C:\Documentation\Installazione\TEST\TEST.txt into Variable PRODUCTNAME
Set Variable TITLE to $PRODUCTNAME$
I saw that it is possible to set in the filed "Product Version" a compiler variable for example "#MYVERSION#" and then define its value in "Project Options>Compiler Variables", but it doesn't matter how many times i tried, i can't tell Installaware to read this value from a txt file, and it should be better if it could be something runtime and not to be build each time i want to change this value.
I read that Mr. Heiko solved this issue but unfortunately he didn't say how and i saw the sample project you've attached but it can't help me.
Could you please help me?
Thank you and Regards
Martin Soland
Technical Support
Optima S.r.l
I wrote you beacuse in this moment i'm facing the same problem as Mr. Heiko.
I need to read my project version number (Product Version) from a text file and set it to a variable in the code in order to have in Add/Remove Programs the product version read from the txt, but i can't find the way to doing this.
I made a working similar for the Product Name:
Read from Text File C:\Documentation\Installazione\TEST\TEST.txt into Variable PRODUCTNAME
Set Variable TITLE to $PRODUCTNAME$
I saw that it is possible to set in the filed "Product Version" a compiler variable for example "#MYVERSION#" and then define its value in "Project Options>Compiler Variables", but it doesn't matter how many times i tried, i can't tell Installaware to read this value from a txt file, and it should be better if it could be something runtime and not to be build each time i want to change this value.
I read that Mr. Heiko solved this issue but unfortunately he didn't say how and i saw the sample project you've attached but it can't help me.
Could you please help me?
Thank you and Regards
Martin Soland
Technical Support
Optima S.r.l
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5361
- Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am
Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable
Dear Martin,
I can only say that it is not possible to assign the VERSION value at runtime ... it can be assigned at compile time only.
This because that value must be part of the MSI database otherwise the MSI engine doesn't generate the package and consequently, the IA IDE compiler will fail.
This is a MSI DB engine rule!
Regards
I can only say that it is not possible to assign the VERSION value at runtime ... it can be assigned at compile time only.
This because that value must be part of the MSI database otherwise the MSI engine doesn't generate the package and consequently, the IA IDE compiler will fail.
This is a MSI DB engine rule!
Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
-
- Posts: 252
- Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 3:07 am
- Location: Konstanz, Germany
- Contact:
Re: Project Properties | Product version as variable
the version number of the text file should be read and saved when I build the project...that would be nice...
But I solved it like that..read the version number in batch from text file...assign the version as parameter from miabuild
and in the product version field in GUI i set #MIKVERSION#...it works
Addiotionally I add our text file as SUPPORTFILE...so I can ask for it at runtime
I do that in every of our 26 Setups
But I solved it like that..read the version number in batch from text file...assign the version as parameter from miabuild
and in the product version field in GUI i set #MIKVERSION#...it works
Addiotionally I add our text file as SUPPORTFILE...so I can ask for it at runtime
I do that in every of our 26 Setups
Kind regards
Heiko Kummerfeld
MIK GmbH
Setup developer for .NET BI Software (12 products)
Head of quality assurance
technical consultant
Heiko Kummerfeld
MIK GmbH
Setup developer for .NET BI Software (12 products)
Head of quality assurance
technical consultant
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 196 guests