Get Folder Location bug

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
Bugger
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:53 pm

Get Folder Location bug

Postby Bugger » Wed Nov 23, 2005 12:00 pm

It appears that Get Folder Location for locations like the desktop directory is always returning the all users folder, rather than the user specific folder.

The "Get For All Users" checkbox is not checked.

sinan
Site Admin
Posts: 1028
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:12 am
Contact:

Postby sinan » Wed Nov 23, 2005 1:00 pm

I am unable to reproduce this. I created an empty script containing the code:

Code: Select all

~InstallAWARE Clipboard Data~
~MessageBox~
~{4481B52D-E66D-450C-95ED-099FE37D8052}~
~Desktop Folders~
~$ALLDESKTOP$$NEWLINE$$DESKTOP$~
~0~
~1~
~~
~Get Folder Location~
~{4F558047-2769-4C8C-867F-071410EE4023}~
~DESKTOP~
~17~
~FALSE~
~Get Folder Location~
~{A08D4B0F-4A38-4BC3-8B3D-2BE2E92B45D6}~
~ALLDESKTOP~
~17~
~TRUE~

And the output was as follows:

---------------------------
Desktop Folders
---------------------------
C:\\Documents and Settings\\All Users\\DesktopC:\\Documents and Settings\\Administrator\\Desktop\---------------------------
OK
---------------------------


Which looks fine to me...

Bugger
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:53 pm

Postby Bugger » Wed Nov 23, 2005 1:18 pm

To be more specific, I am using these folder locations to create shortcuts. The shortcut is being placed in all users when I use this:

Code: Select all

~InstallAWARE Clipboard Data~
~Create Shortcut~
~{8749B554-ABE8-4560-90AB-77D35CFE81E6}~
~$PROGRAMFILES$\\Media Manager\\MediaManager.exe~
~#APPNAME#~
~$DESKTOPDIR$~
~Launch #APPNAME#~
~"$USER_APPDATA$\\Media Manager\\#CLIENTNAME#\\Main.plc"~
~$PROGRAMFILES$\\Media Manager~
~#CLIENTPATH#\\ClientFiles\\App.ico~
~~
~0~
~Create Shortcut~
~{D7D23074-7102-49CA-90B1-96510320E33C}~
~$PROGRAMFILES$\\Media Manager\\MediaManager.exe~
~#APPNAME#~
~$SHORTCUTROOT$~
~Launch #APPNAME#~
~"$USER_APPDATA$\\Media Manager\\#CLIENTNAME#\\Main.plc"~
~$PROGRAMFILES$\\Media Manager~
~#CLIENTPATH#\\ClientFiles\\App.ico~
~~
~0~
~Get Folder Location~
~{034C570E-15ED-4600-9B45-D4A4101644C0}~
~SHORTCUTROOT~
~12~
~FALSE~
~Get Folder Location~
~{39BDDDB2-6870-4057-8759-2F7B37049C21}~
~DESKTOPDIR~
~17~
~FALSE~

Bugger
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:53 pm

Postby Bugger » Wed Nov 23, 2005 1:23 pm

This isn't a pressing problem for me, as I'm going to have to create the shortcuts manually to address the missing icon issue, but I thought you'd like to know.

sinan
Site Admin
Posts: 1028
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 8:12 am
Contact:

Postby sinan » Wed Nov 23, 2005 4:25 pm

You are sure DESKTOPDIR is not being overwritten later in the code, right?
Do these statements execute in the exact order you have given above?
Can you try pasting the sample code I gave and see what happens with your setup?


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 140 guests