Adding .NET 4 assemblies to the GAC

Got a problem you cannot solve? Try here.
alma88
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:38 am

Adding .NET 4 assemblies to the GAC

Postby alma88 » Fri Apr 23, 2010 4:35 am

Hi,

IA can add our .NET 3.5 assemblies into the GAC. Is there any way that IA can add our .NET 4 assemblies to the GAC?

TIA

MichaelNesmith
Posts: 3452
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding .NET 4 assemblies to the GAC

Postby MichaelNesmith » Fri Apr 23, 2010 5:42 am

What happens when you try to add a .NET 4 assembly to the GAC? Feel free to attach the assembly in question so we can take a look.
Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

alma88
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:38 am

Re: Adding .NET 4 assemblies to the GAC

Postby alma88 » Fri Apr 23, 2010 7:31 am

When I try to mark our assemblies for installation into the GAC folder, IA 8 doesn't show the assembly version numbers of our .NET 4 assemblies. Also, upon compilation the project fails with the following message:

Error during build: Unable to get assembly information for D:\Development\Distribution\Development Toolkit\WCFX\Trial\Assembly\Noemax.WCFX.Net4.Trial.dll

Maybe this has changed since IA 8 that I am using, and IA 9 can actually work with .NET 4 assemblies?

MichaelNesmith
Posts: 3452
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding .NET 4 assemblies to the GAC

Postby MichaelNesmith » Fri Apr 23, 2010 8:41 am

Per my earlier request, could you attach the .NET 4 assembly in question?
Michael Nesmith

InstallAware

Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer

Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

MichaelNesmith
Posts: 3452
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding .NET 4 assemblies to the GAC

Postby MichaelNesmith » Fri Apr 23, 2010 9:45 am

R&D says this new file should make it work for you. Enjoy :)
Attachments
gacnet20x.zip
Extract and place this file in your InstallAware folder, typically: C:\Program Files\InstallAware\InstallAware 9
(2.08 KiB) Downloaded 602 times
Michael Nesmith

InstallAware

Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer

Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

alma88
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:38 am

Re: Adding .NET 4 assemblies to the GAC

Postby alma88 » Fri Apr 23, 2010 10:11 am

Thanks! Just one more question.... is this supposed to work with IA 8 too?

MichaelNesmith
Posts: 3452
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Adding .NET 4 assemblies to the GAC

Postby MichaelNesmith » Fri Apr 23, 2010 11:35 am

We have validated only on InstallAware 9, but it won't hurt to try! Just backup the old file.
Michael Nesmith

InstallAware

Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer

Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

alma88
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:38 am

Re: Adding .NET 4 assemblies to the GAC

Postby alma88 » Sat Apr 24, 2010 2:35 am

Seems to be working fine with IA 8.

Many thanks for your support, I appreciate it!

Alexander

Dave.Parsons
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:13 am

Re: Adding .NET 4 assemblies to the GAC

Postby Dave.Parsons » Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:25 am

I too am having trouble with this. I get the same message when building the installer during the copying stage when IA attempts to copy the first of the .Net 4.0 assemblies required. After updating the copy of gacnet20x.exe to the one attached to this post, I now get a prompt saying "The publisher could not be verified. Are you sure you want to run this software", when clicking Run I get the same error message as the original version of the file; "Error during build: Unable to get assembly information for C:\Install_Set_Creation\......"

Running the same Installer project for the previous version of our software (before we updated to use .Net 4.0) works correctly.

Project is being run using IA 9 on Windows Server 2008 R2 x64 and is built from local files on the C:\ drive.

Any suggestions?

Cheers
D

giaviv
Posts: 2039
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:39 pm

Re: Adding .NET 4 assemblies to the GAC

Postby giaviv » Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:26 pm

Dear D,

I have recently played around quite a bit with InstallAware and .NET 4 assemblies. Note that the error you are getting most likely has to do with your assembly, rather than with InstallAware. It could also be that you need to re-install InstallAware. Please refer to this thread:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4804&start=15
Aviv Giladi
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Product Guides - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... guides.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

Dave.Parsons
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:13 am

Re: Adding .NET 4 assemblies to the GAC

Postby Dave.Parsons » Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:24 am

Hi,

I have tried reinstalling IA but this made no difference. I don't think the issue is with our assemblies as we are getting exactly the same error message as TIA had at the beginning of this post. The solution for this issued by Michael Nesmith in April of last year was to issue a patched copy of gacnet20x.zip. However this doesn't work for me when using IA 9 (Build Moya.sp1.070409)

I have read through the other forum post, however this seemed (as I interpreted the problem) to be an issue when installing onto the target machine. I am unable to create the installation package as I get the "Error during build: Unable to get assembly information for C:\Install_Set_Creation\......" message during the build.

Any suggestions?

Cheers
D

giaviv
Posts: 2039
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:39 pm

Re: Adding .NET 4 assemblies to the GAC

Postby giaviv » Thu Feb 10, 2011 4:12 pm

Dear D,

Could you possibly send your assemblies over to support at installaware.com?
Aviv Giladi
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Product Guides - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... guides.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

Dave.Parsons
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:13 am

Re: Adding .NET 4 assemblies to the GAC

Postby Dave.Parsons » Fri Feb 11, 2011 10:09 am

Email sent, thanks for your help.

Cheers
D

giaviv
Posts: 2039
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:39 pm

Re: Adding .NET 4 assemblies to the GAC

Postby giaviv » Sun Feb 13, 2011 5:40 am

Dear D,

I got your assembly, and I was able to add it and build my installer no problem on my InstallAware 10.10. Could you please describe the steps you are taking in order to register your assembly?
Aviv Giladi
InstallAware Software

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Product Guides - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... guides.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

Dave.Parsons
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:13 am

Re: Adding .NET 4 assemblies to the GAC

Postby Dave.Parsons » Mon Feb 14, 2011 5:04 am

The assemblies were simply added in the project view of IA using the Setup Architecture - Assemblies screen by browsing to the location to add it to the installer. I have since tried this again with a brand new project created using the wizard, pointing it to a new empty directory then added the assembly I sent you and on building to a single file installer I get the same error message.

D


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests