I recently purchased the Studio edition of Installaware. I am tring to create a script or use the MS SQL plug in that will use a script I created to create a database in on the local SQL server, to the default local instance, and with out using the database name field (I have named the database in the script).
Any ideas?
Thank you very much!
Lee
MS SQL Plug-In - Parameters?
-
- Posts: 3452
- Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
- Contact:
Hi Lee!
First, we recommend you always install your own instance of SQL Server. This avoids configuration conflicts with other existing instances. To do this:
This installs your own named instance of SQL Server, and does so only if it has not been previously installed. Then, to run your SQL Script:
This will run your SQL script on the installed instance.
You can then test your setup and refine it to your satisfaction - the above should get you going for a basic setup!
First, we recommend you always install your own instance of SQL Server. This avoids configuration conflicts with other existing instances. To do this:
- Switch to the Visual view
Select the Application Runtimes page
Check the SQL Server Express 2005 check-box
Click Options
In the Check Service box, enter the name of your instance, prepended with MSSQL$, then OK
In the SQL Server Express box, on the Options tab, enter your instance name, and click Generate Command Line, then OK
This installs your own named instance of SQL Server, and does so only if it has not been previously installed. Then, to run your SQL Script:
- Select the SQL Databases page
Click New, MS SQL Script
Fill in your instance name and other details as necessary
This will run your SQL script on the installed instance.
You can then test your setup and refine it to your satisfaction - the above should get you going for a basic setup!
Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 4:11 pm
Default instance needed
While I definately understand the need to keep from conflicting with existing instances of SQL, I must place my database into the default instance of MS SQL 2000 on the localhost. Our database communicates with an existing database from one of our other products.
Can you tell me how this might be accomplished?
Can you tell me how this might be accomplished?
-
- Posts: 3452
- Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
- Contact:
Well, if that is the case, you should use mdPlugins to facilitate installing SQL Server 2000. The steps I gave for pre-req installation are for SQL Express 2005.
The remainder is the same though - the actual running of the script would work the same way regardless, and the same way checking for the service would remain unaffected.
Just get your hands dirty with the examples and plug-ins and the sample steps - the rest will follow easily, I assure you!
The remainder is the same though - the actual running of the script would work the same way regardless, and the same way checking for the service would remain unaffected.
Just get your hands dirty with the examples and plug-ins and the sample steps - the rest will follow easily, I assure you!
Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 4:11 pm
I can assure you that I have gotten my hands dirty for several hours trying to accomplish this task. That is why I am here in the forums.
Please remember that I am not trying to install SQL 2000. I am trying to run a script generated in SQL 2000 to recreate a database. This recreated database script needs to:
1. Run automatically during install.
2. Use the default installation of SQL 2000.
3. Use the default database instance name.
I need the steps or variables to make this happen.
Thanks,
Lee
Please remember that I am not trying to install SQL 2000. I am trying to run a script generated in SQL 2000 to recreate a database. This recreated database script needs to:
1. Run automatically during install.
2. Use the default installation of SQL 2000.
3. Use the default database instance name.
I need the steps or variables to make this happen.
Thanks,
Lee
-
- Posts: 3452
- Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:17 pm
- Contact:
Hi Lee!
Then all you do is just select the SQL Databases page and click New->MS SQL Script, filling in the fields and your script.
This step seems pretty obvious - so if you can help us and explain what's hard to understand, we can use that in improving our product documentation, and also the IDE. Thanks for your time!
Then all you do is just select the SQL Databases page and click New->MS SQL Script, filling in the fields and your script.
This step seems pretty obvious - so if you can help us and explain what's hard to understand, we can use that in improving our product documentation, and also the IDE. Thanks for your time!
Michael Nesmith
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 156 guests