Windows Firewall Plug-In

Interested in developing new plug-ins? Got one to share? Post here!
Tinus
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 8:42 am
Location: Germany

Windows Firewall Plug-In

Postby Tinus » Tue Jan 09, 2007 9:49 am

The Windows Firewall Plug-In allows you to add or delete exception rules for the Windows Firewall in your setup.

More information and download is here:
http://www.axonet.de/products/other-pro ... stallaware

If you have any comments, problems, suggestions please post to this thread.
Last edited by Tinus on Wed May 07, 2014 10:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Martin Rothschink
InstallAware MVP

AxoNet Software GmbH
http://www.axonet.de/products/other-pro ... stallaware

jimo
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:59 am
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Postby jimo » Wed Jan 10, 2007 8:26 am

Martin,

Very well done, the entire InstallAware community will benefit greatly from the work you have done on this set of plugins. Especially the Firewall plugin.

Great job!

Thanks,
Jim Oswell
Software Engineering Manager, Dental
Greenway Health, LLC
http://greenwaymedical.com

Steve
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:51 pm
Location: Canada eh

Postby Steve » Mon Jan 15, 2007 3:20 pm

Hi Martin;
I installed your firewall plugin. Thanks VERY much for creating this for the community.

I am hoping that you can advise me on how to handle this particular firewall configuration problem via your plugin.
I see in your plugin that I can specify what installed application I need to create an exception for. However, what I am trying to do is essentially turn off the firewall (or create an exception) for the IA installation itself.

I know that this is not a very clear explaination so perhaps an example would be of benefit.
While IA in in the process of installing my application, I need to run an SQL script to create a database, however I need to turn off the firewall (or create an exception) prior to when InstallAware runs the SQL Database creation script (via IA's SQL Databases feature).
So the installation steps would be:
> run the InstallAware setup to install 'MyApp'
> turn off the firewall or create an exception for the running InstallAware process.
> Run my SQL database creation script during the InstallAware install of MyApp. NOte that InstallAware connects to the SQL Instance at this point in time in order to generate the DB.
>(optionally) turn on the firewall again or remove the InstallAware process excpetion.

In your plugin I can specify my application name for the purposes of creating an excpetion, however would only be of benefit in the future, when my application has been installed. How would I specify that it is InstallAware that needs to be granted the exception during the InstallAware installation process?

jimo
Posts: 342
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:59 am
Location: Atlanta, GA
Contact:

Postby jimo » Mon Jan 15, 2007 3:23 pm

Steve,

Don't add a program add specific ports, I think 1433-1434 TCP and UDP should do the trick.
Jim Oswell
Software Engineering Manager, Dental
Greenway Health, LLC
http://greenwaymedical.com

Tinus
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 8:42 am
Location: Germany

Postby Tinus » Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:25 pm

Steve,

first try to use the ports from Jims post.

If this doesn't work you can try to create an exception and use $EXEFILE$ as the program. Put this command in front of your SQL action.

Code: Select all

~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~Firewall~
~{890B7CF9-3ECE-4D94-AD1F-7EF4AABD7E19}~
~0,"$TITLE$ setup",0,$EXEFILE$,,0,0,,3~
~FirewallIDEPlugIn.dll\\FirewallIDEPlugIn.dll~


After your SQL action delete this exception rule:

Code: Select all

~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~Firewall~
~{890B7CF9-3ECE-4D94-AD1F-7EF4AABD7E19}~
~1,"$TITLE$ setup",0,$EXEFILE$,,0,0,,3~
~FirewallIDEPlugIn.dll\\FirewallIDEPlugIn.dll~
Martin Rothschink
InstallAware MVP

AxoNet Software GmbH
http://www.axonet.de/products/other-pro ... stallaware

Steve
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 9:51 pm
Location: Canada eh

Postby Steve » Mon Jan 15, 2007 5:27 pm

Thanks Jim and thanks Martin.
I will give this a try and report back to this post.

Steve

crustyzz
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 4:18 am
Location: France

Postby crustyzz » Wed May 16, 2007 4:31 am

Does it work for MS Vista Firwall too ?

Tinus
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 8:42 am
Location: Germany

Postby Tinus » Wed May 16, 2007 5:32 am

It should work for incoming rules in the Windows Firewall in Vista.
Vista has added outgoing rules which you can't configure with the plug-in.
Martin Rothschink
InstallAware MVP

AxoNet Software GmbH
http://www.axonet.de/products/other-pro ... stallaware

Edhy
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 4:09 pm
Location: New York, USA

Postby Edhy » Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:30 am

Hi Martin,

Thank you very much for your contributions.

Iwas checking the Volume Info Plug-In, and would like to suggest including the return of the UNC path from the volume, I think this would be useful. I am playing with the API function WNetGetConnection to get this value, but after looking at your plug-in thought that this function may fit very well in this plug-in.
Edhy Rijo
Progytech (Computer Consultants)

Tinus
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 8:42 am
Location: Germany

Postby Tinus » Mon Jul 16, 2007 1:52 am

Edhy,

I have enhanced the volume info plug-in to return the UNC path name.

More information and download is here:
http://www.axonet.de/eng/Axo/plugins_fo ... laware.htm
Martin Rothschink
InstallAware MVP

AxoNet Software GmbH
http://www.axonet.de/products/other-pro ... stallaware

Ryan Lee
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 7:11 pm

Postby Ryan Lee » Wed Feb 06, 2008 3:01 pm

Firstly, thanks for an excellent plugin and making it available to the public.

I am using version 2. 1.0.20 and the plugin does not appear to work for Vista (x64). I have not tested it on 32 bit versions of Vista. The user that is running the installer is logged in as an administrator. I am trying to add a program exception and the exception does not appear in the firewall exception list. Here is the installaware code that I use to add the exception:

Code: Select all

~InstallAware Clipboard Data~

~Windows Firewall~

~{BE0C043C-A2CF-4566-8B8F-C7847EEAC2A2}~

~0,MyApp.exe,0,$TARGETDIR$\\MyApp.exe,,2,0,,3~

~FirewallIDEPlugIn.dll\\FirewallEXEPlugIn.dll~


Any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks!

Tinus
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 8:42 am
Location: Germany

Postby Tinus » Thu Feb 07, 2008 11:30 am

Ryan, I made a test in x86 mode and in 64 Bit mode on Vista 64 and found no problems with the plug-in.

Please check: have you placed the call to the plug-in after Apply Install?
Is MyApp.exe installed before you call the plug-in?

Regards
Martin Rothschink
InstallAware MVP

AxoNet Software GmbH
http://www.axonet.de/products/other-pro ... stallaware

Ryan Lee
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 7:11 pm

Postby Ryan Lee » Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:21 pm

1. the call to plugin is made after apply install, so MyApp.exe is already installed in it's target folder during the call.

With regards to the questions in your PM:

can you give me some more details? You have build a 64Bit Installer?
- I have built a hybrid win32/x64 installer that detects the type of os and sets installation mode to win32/x64 as necessary.
Basically the sequence of steps (for the failure)
1. set installation mode to x64
2. run gui / specify files to install
3. apply install
4. configure windows firewall

What problem do you have?
- After making the call to the configure windows firewall plugin, the exception is not present.

What version of Vista x64?
Vista Business x64

ComputerAidedTech
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 02, 2009 10:16 pm

Vista/64 Cannot add Port to Firewall Exception List

Postby ComputerAidedTech » Mon May 04, 2009 2:28 pm

All,

Just checked to see if anyone has added a Port exception using this plug-in under Vista/64.

I can add applications just fine.

Works find under XP.

Tinus
Posts: 204
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 8:42 am
Location: Germany

Postby Tinus » Tue May 05, 2009 1:47 am

That's on my list for a later version. Can't give any schedule right now.
Martin Rothschink
InstallAware MVP

AxoNet Software GmbH
http://www.axonet.de/products/other-pro ... stallaware


Return to “Plug-In Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests