Difference between debug and normal mode

Interested in developing new plug-ins? Got one to share? Post here!
christ23
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 4:51 am

Difference between debug and normal mode

Postby christ23 » Tue Aug 14, 2012 12:37 pm

Hello,

i am developing a C#-Plugin with the help of MaxLogics Delphi-Bridge (but that is not the problem here).

The Plugin is running correctly in the "Debug" mode in IA. But - when i start the exe manually by double-clicking (Compressed or Uncompressed doesn't matter), the plugin seems not to be called at all.

For this, i reduced the Pluign so that it just pops up a Messagebox, nothin else. But the box never comes up when running manually.

So, is there any difference to the Debug mode ? Is the path or something else changing in debug mode ?

It seems that there are differences, but which one causes my problem?

Any help appreciated :)

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4849
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Difference between debug and normal mode

Postby FrancescoT » Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:06 am

Please Note, the topic has been moved to "Plug-In Development" forum.

Unfortunately I can not help you (I use C++ only) and you have to try to ask to the author of "MaxLogics Delphi-Bridge".

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

christ23
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 4:51 am

Re: Difference between debug and normal mode

Postby christ23 » Thu Aug 16, 2012 10:08 am

Hmm... excuse me, but i think it is neither a reason of the Delphi-Bridge, nor of the programming langaue. Because in debug mode (=the debug mode of IA, hope this has been clear to you) the plugin is being called by IA.

Ok, i will try to get the solution of my own ...

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4849
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Difference between debug and normal mode

Postby FrancescoT » Thu Aug 16, 2012 10:53 am

Dear Christ23,

from personal experience in plug-in development, I never used IA in debug mode to debug my plug-in code.
I always use the integrated Visual Studio debugger with c++. In my case is native code and very pobably you can't do the the same with c#.

Anyway, if your plug-in is not called at all you should receive an error during the setup package execution.
Also check if the plugin runtime (the dll) is placed under TEMP folder of your package when you execute it.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE


Return to “Plug-In Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest