MS SQL Script's status

For all your non-technical questions.
william_mda
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 12:11 pm

MS SQL Script's status

Postby william_mda » Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:38 pm

Hi,

I'm trying to use the MS SQL Script plugin to create a database. The script works fine, except for the status display.

During the database creation, part of the script contains the database password. As all the scripts are being display to the screen, the password are being display as well as part of the status.

Is there a way to prevent this from displaying? I've tried setting PROGRESSTEXT = "" and PROGRESSMODE = MARQUEE, didn't help.

Thanks!

William

CandiceJones
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:03 pm
Contact:

Postby CandiceJones » Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:54 am

What's probably best is for you to show a custom progress dialog right before running your SQL script, one that hides or completely deletes the progress label!
Candice Jones
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

DevilSun
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:11 pm
Location: Oregon

Postby DevilSun » Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:14 pm

I played with this some, and found that it only displays three lines. So, I used a single inline comment at the top of my script and then some new line breaks. The key is to remember it's SQL, so you need your comment characters. It's not optimal, but it's an easy route around the problem...

Code: Select all

-- Installing database...


/* do your work here including user creation with passwords and it won't be displayed */


Return to “Non-Technical”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest