Running InstallAware from cmd line

For all your non-technical questions.
aevanne
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 12:39 am

Running InstallAware from cmd line

Postby aevanne » Thu May 07, 2009 1:14 am

Hi,
I need to be able to create a .msi file from the cmd line (or from a script). Is this possible using InstallAware?

Thanks!

bokkie
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:30 am

Postby bokkie » Thu May 07, 2009 1:38 am

Yes.
Peter. Smartly dressed, he still resembles an unmade bed.
InstallAware MVP

aevanne
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 12:39 am

Postby aevanne » Thu May 07, 2009 10:08 am

Great thanks. Is there example code or documantation somewhere on how to do this?

aevanne
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 12:39 am

Postby aevanne » Thu May 07, 2009 1:37 pm

Also, I need to be able to modify the script (update variables/paths on the fly) before running Installaware to create the msi file. Is this doable? I can't find any documentation regarding creating .msi from cmd line ....

Thanks.

CandiceJones
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:03 pm
Contact:

Postby CandiceJones » Thu May 07, 2009 2:13 pm

You want to use compiler variables. Read up on the help.
Candice Jones
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

aevanne
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 12:39 am

Postby aevanne » Thu May 07, 2009 2:48 pm

OK, thanks. will do.

So my other question, where can I find help on generating msi (unattended) from the cmd line using IA?

Thanks,

bokkie
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:30 am

Postby bokkie » Thu May 07, 2009 3:16 pm

When you install IA it installs the build utility called miabuild. Run that from a command window without parameters and it will display the command line options.
Peter. Smartly dressed, he still resembles an unmade bed.
InstallAware MVP

aevanne
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 12:39 am

Postby aevanne » Thu May 07, 2009 3:34 pm

Aha, thank you. That's what I was looking for. I'm just looking at the eval copy for now - it doesn't seem to be there. What package will it be part of?

bokkie
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:30 am

Postby bokkie » Thu May 07, 2009 4:14 pm

On my machine it's in C:\\Program Files\\InstallAware\\InstallAware 9. I don't know if it is version specific however. I have Studio Admin version which has everything. I recall it was also in the Studio version. I've never installed just the Express version so I can't say for sure if it is truly universally available or not.
Peter. Smartly dressed, he still resembles an unmade bed.
InstallAware MVP

aevanne
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 12:39 am

Postby aevanne » Thu May 07, 2009 4:45 pm

Thanks for your help. I appreciate it.

CandiceJones
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:03 pm
Contact:

Postby CandiceJones » Thu May 07, 2009 6:08 pm

Uninstall Express, then run the same setup file you downloaded and choose Developer or a higher edition. The setup file for all editions is the same and you choose your edition in the setup wizard.
Candice Jones

InstallAware

Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer

Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/


Return to “Non-Technical”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests