Registering ASP.Net application to run as 32-bit app in IIS7

For all your non-technical questions.
rthacker
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:49 pm

Registering ASP.Net application to run as 32-bit app in IIS7

Postby rthacker » Thu Oct 22, 2009 3:09 pm

I am evaluating InstallAware for my company. The latest release says it fully supports 64-bit OS and IIS 7. I have been able to create an installation for a ASP.Net Web application that does install. However, the application pool it uses is not set to run as a 32-bit application. Since the installation is set as 32-bit, I assumed that would be automatic.

Further, I can not see a way to set this in the IDE. I have VBScript which can do it, but I am wondering what I am missing in the IDE, or how I can use the VBScript effectively.

Thanks.
Regan Thacker

CandiceJones
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:03 pm
Contact:

Postby CandiceJones » Thu Oct 22, 2009 4:36 pm

Hi Regan,

Try using the Set 64 Bit Mode command.

If that doesn't help, run your VBScript using the Run Program command, on I believe what should be wscript.exe.
Candice Jones
InstallAware
Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer
Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

rthacker
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:49 pm

Postby rthacker » Thu Oct 22, 2009 5:56 pm

SET 64 Bit Mode did not work. Calling my own script did.

However, I would have thought this would be something already included in InstallAware. That is code to configure the Application Pools. If it is not already in consideration, please add that as a request.

Thank you for your help.
Regan Thacker

CandiceJones
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 7:03 pm
Contact:

Postby CandiceJones » Thu Oct 22, 2009 6:08 pm

The Create Virtual Folder command let's you configure Application Pools.
Candice Jones

InstallAware

Home of The Next Generation MSI Installer

Get your free copy today - http://www.installaware.com/

ominous
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 7:55 am

Re: Registering ASP.Net application to run as 32-bit app in

Postby ominous » Wed Apr 07, 2010 8:10 am

You can set 32-bit mode on an Application Pool using the following Run Program command within your install script

Run Program: $WINDIR$\system32\inetsrv\appcmd.exe
Command Line Parameters: set apppool $TITLE$ /enable32BitAppOnWin64:true /processModel.identityType:LocalSystem

This example assumes that your Application Pool is named the same as the Title within your installation routine.
I also have the Hide Program Window and Wait for Program to Finish checkboxes checked.


Return to “Non-Technical”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests