Multiple Instances of the Same Dialog?

For all your non-technical questions.
jaxmeier
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:02 pm

Multiple Instances of the Same Dialog?

Postby jaxmeier » Sun Oct 03, 2010 3:11 pm

All,

I have a situation where
1) An installation would require multiple IIS instances and/or virtual directories to be installed. I would like to present the IIS dialog to the user to allow them to enter the appropriate information (Instance name (if desired) virtual directory, etc).

2) An installation would require multiple SQL databases to be created and scripts to be run against each database. I would like to present the SQL dialog to the user to allow them to select the database name to create and run the scripts against.

Can I create a separate entry in Server Configuration -> IIS Sites for each site (similar for SQL Server) and pass the variables in from the dialogs?

I am testing Studio now, so I can see how custom dialogs would be created, although I am hoping I don't need to create a separate dialog for each instance.

Thanks,
jax

mills
Posts: 814
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2010 7:10 pm
Location: Honolulu, HI

Re: Multiple Instances of the Same Dialog?

Postby mills » Mon Oct 04, 2010 6:30 pm

Yes, you can reference the variables by $variablName$ within the dialogs used to create the sites or instances. You can also see the MSIcode that is generated when you create a site through the designer and you could just copy that code and reuse it as you see fit.
Andy Mills
InstallAware
Other Help:
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Product Guides - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... guides.htm
InstallAware Help - Press F1 in the InstallAware IDE.


Return to “Non-Technical”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest