Dependency scanning, am I missing something?

For all your non-technical questions.
AaronJohnson
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:46 am

Dependency scanning, am I missing something?

Postby AaronJohnson » Tue Apr 10, 2012 1:04 pm

I'm coming from the world of Visual Studio .vdproj installers, which will cease to exist in VS11. As such, I am investigating new installers packages.

I like InstallAware quite a bit so far, but the dependency scanning has me scratching my head. I have dozens of executables in my product, so scanning them all is tedious. Worse, many of them can't be run with an empty command line, not to mention the ten or so services. So far I haven't been able to build an installer that actually gets everything running. Is there no way to do a static dependency check, like Visual Studio used to do?

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4859
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Dependency scanning, am I missing something?

Postby FrancescoT » Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:47 am

Dear User,

Honestly I used Visual Studio .vdproj installers, just few times.

What do you mean for static dependency? In wich ways it works?

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

AaronJohnson
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:46 am

Re: Dependency scanning, am I missing something?

Postby AaronJohnson » Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:10 am

Statics dependency checking looks at the executable image directly, without the need to run it.

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4859
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Dependency scanning, am I missing something?

Postby FrancescoT » Fri Apr 13, 2012 8:04 am

Dear Aron,

For what I know InstallAware only can executes dependency checking dinamcally.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

ZvikaCastel
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 7:34 am

Re: Dependency scanning, am I missing something?

Postby ZvikaCastel » Wed May 16, 2012 12:39 am

I find this dynamically scanning annoying, too. can't always make the executable to start in a clean release build environment. Not to mention Services.
Zvika Castel
Software Configuration Manager
Tel Aviv Stock Exchange

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4859
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Dependency scanning, am I missing something?

Postby FrancescoT » Wed May 16, 2012 12:37 pm

Dear Users,

Let me check with dev team.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

ZvikaCastel
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 7:34 am

Re: Dependency scanning, am I missing something?

Postby ZvikaCastel » Thu May 17, 2012 12:16 am

Waiting... 8)
Zvika Castel
Software Configuration Manager
Tel Aviv Stock Exchange

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4859
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Dependency scanning, am I missing something?

Postby FrancescoT » Mon May 28, 2012 8:52 am

Still checking!
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

rgralak
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:18 am

Re: Dependency scanning, am I missing something?

Postby rgralak » Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:40 am

Hi Francesco,

Any update on this? The lack of static dependency checking is the one feature that has kept me from purchasing InstallAware. Even Wise's install builders had that in it's lower versions. This is not the same as using "depends". The feature should search EXEs and DLLs in the installation project looking for references not found in the installation and give the user a list of which to add (via check boxes besides each reference). Another thing the Wise installer did was check for and warn if there were duplicate dependencies (perhaps different versions of the same DLL used by different components in the installer project).

BTW, yesterday I tried using the scan button with the InstallAware 15 trial on a .Net application and it didn't find anything (yet there were a number of .Net DLLs used by the app). I'm not sure what might have gone wrong but this is a deal breaker for me.

-Ray

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4859
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Dependency scanning, am I missing something?

Postby FrancescoT » Thu Jun 06, 2013 9:41 am

Dear Ray,

#1 Static dependency scan has been already added to our "future features to-do list" ... but currently, I am not able to anticipate when it will be.

#2 If you chosen the correct Exe to scan ... it should work correctly (I just tried with an Exe file).

Have you followed the required steps as described in IA documentation?

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

rgralak
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:18 am

Re: Dependency scanning, am I missing something?

Postby rgralak » Thu Jun 06, 2013 10:05 am

Hi Francesco,
FrancescoT wrote:Dear Ray,

#1 Static dependency scan has been already added to our "future features to-do list" ... but currently, I am not able to anticipate when it will be.

#2 If you chosen the correct Exe to scan ... it should work correctly (I just tried with an Exe file).

Have you followed the required steps as described in IA documentation?

Regards

1. Ok, that's excellent that the dependency scan is on the to-do list.

2. Yes, I believe I have done all the steps... 1) I check the filter by feature and select "Feature Independent", 2) Click the SCAN button and select the EXE. 3) the EXE runs and I do a bunch of operations. 4) I click the "OK" button on the dialog with the EXE still running and nothing happens. No dependencies seem to be found... that is no message pops up that anything was (or wasn't) found. And of course no dependencies are added to my installation project yet I know the EXE references a number of .Net DLLs in the same directory as the EXE.

Did I forget a step?

-Ray

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4859
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Dependency scanning, am I missing something?

Postby FrancescoT » Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:58 pm

Dear Ray,

Once your program has been loaded, are you sure to have used all of its features?
This way the program loads and uses all of the libraries it may ever need at runtime.

Anyway, if it is possible for you to send your files to me ... I could try to verify what happens.

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

rgralak
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:18 am

Re: Dependency scanning, am I missing something?

Postby rgralak » Thu Jun 06, 2013 3:22 pm

Hi Francesco,

Unfortunately you wouldn't be able to run it because it requires our internal SQL Server database. But database access is handled via several DLLs so even just by logging in I would think that would trigger the need for some of those DLLs.

If you think it would help I could capture a video using Jing showing the steps I am doing??

-Ray

FrancescoT
Site Admin
Posts: 4859
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am

Re: Dependency scanning, am I missing something?

Postby FrancescoT » Fri Jun 07, 2013 11:24 am

Dear Ray,

... of course, you can send it to; support@installAware.com

Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software Support

White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE

rgralak
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 7:18 am

Re: Dependency scanning, am I missing something?

Postby rgralak » Fri Jun 07, 2013 3:29 pm

FrancescoT wrote:Dear Ray,

... of course, you can send it to; support@installAware.com

Regards


Francisco, I just emailed the video 5 minutes ago.

-Ray


Return to “Non-Technical”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests