Hi All,
I just upgrade to X2 Studio Admin form IA 18 and now my previous setup fails to build due to not finding the dot net 4.5 runtime.
I get this error:
Not files matching wildcard pattern
D:\PROGRA-2\INSTALL-2\runtimes\netfx_full-x86\*.*
In the "Application Runtimes" now I don't see "Microsoft .NET Framework 4.5" which I had in IA 18, only one I see is "Microsoft .NET Framework 4.52 (x86 and x64) does the 4.52 replaces the 4.5?
Thanks!!!
dot Net 4.5 runtines in X2 version?
dot Net 4.5 runtines in X2 version?
Edhy Rijo
Thom Child and Family Services
Thom Child and Family Services
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5361
- Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am
Re: dot Net 4.5 runtines in X2 version?
Dear Edhy,
yes, you should replace the previous .NET Framework 4.5 with 4.5.2 .
I recommend to you to replace also any other Runtime eventually used (many of them have been re-designed in IA X2).
You only need to follow these steps;
Make a backup of your entire project folder before to proceed!
1- Open the project and remove any used Application Runtime from the project (Design View in the IDE).
2- Remove any Runtime script eventually listed (that refers to an Application runtimes) in the "Include Scripts" node (left tree pane of the MSI code view in IA IDE)
3- Manually check that any "include script" entry (that refers to the removed Application Runtimes) has not been left in your main script.
4- Finally, re-add the required Application Runtimes, save and build the project.
Regards
yes, you should replace the previous .NET Framework 4.5 with 4.5.2 .
I recommend to you to replace also any other Runtime eventually used (many of them have been re-designed in IA X2).
You only need to follow these steps;
Make a backup of your entire project folder before to proceed!
1- Open the project and remove any used Application Runtime from the project (Design View in the IDE).
2- Remove any Runtime script eventually listed (that refers to an Application runtimes) in the "Include Scripts" node (left tree pane of the MSI code view in IA IDE)
3- Manually check that any "include script" entry (that refers to the removed Application Runtimes) has not been left in your main script.
4- Finally, re-add the required Application Runtimes, save and build the project.
Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
Re: dot Net 4.5 runtimes in X2 version?
Hi Francesco,
Thanks very much for the prompt response, much appreciated!!!
I followed your instructions and now I am able to re-build my script, but I have a question about the Runtimes, for example, my application is compiled as 32 bits, but I see a "Microsoft Windows Installer 4.5" and "Microsoft Windows Installer 4.5 (x64)" as oppose to the new .Net 4.52 (x86 and x64), If I check both Windows Installer 4.5, will the setup install the one required by the OS or should I just install the x86 one?
After checking both runtimes, I don't see any logic in the script to install either one. I just don't want to include unnecessary runtime libraries, if this is the case.
Thanks in advance for this clarification.
Thanks very much for the prompt response, much appreciated!!!
I followed your instructions and now I am able to re-build my script, but I have a question about the Runtimes, for example, my application is compiled as 32 bits, but I see a "Microsoft Windows Installer 4.5" and "Microsoft Windows Installer 4.5 (x64)" as oppose to the new .Net 4.52 (x86 and x64), If I check both Windows Installer 4.5, will the setup install the one required by the OS or should I just install the x86 one?
After checking both runtimes, I don't see any logic in the script to install either one. I just don't want to include unnecessary runtime libraries, if this is the case.
Thanks in advance for this clarification.
Edhy Rijo
Thom Child and Family Services
Thom Child and Family Services
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5361
- Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am
Re: dot Net 4.5 runtines in X2 version?
Dear Edhy,
for what concerns the Windows Installer 4.5 package, you should install the appropriate Runtime respecting the target OS Platform.
To make this possible, you can install the required Runtime conditionally, after querying in your main script the effective target OS Platform.
Usually the main script calls a specialized script that verifies if a specific runtimes is not already present with the system anf if the same, it's supported by the target. If this process completes correctly, then the Runtime will be effectively installed (... an additional script is executed for this purpose).
Consequently, any IA runtime added to the project includes 2 scripts for each runtime installation;
- the first one for checking purpose (the name of the script begins with "checkxxx") and the second one, it's the one that effectively execute the runtime installation (the name of the script begins with "setupxxxx").
That said in your main script, you only need to conditionally execute the Runtime "check-script" that matches the target OS Platform ... no other actions are required to install the correct "Windows Installer 4.5 package" based on the target OS platform.
NOTE:
the Runtime "check-scripts" are Always added to the "Check Application Pre-Requisites" Code Region of the main script project.
Example;
the same code snippet in IA Clipboard format.
Hope this helps you.
Regards
for what concerns the Windows Installer 4.5 package, you should install the appropriate Runtime respecting the target OS Platform.
To make this possible, you can install the required Runtime conditionally, after querying in your main script the effective target OS Platform.
Usually the main script calls a specialized script that verifies if a specific runtimes is not already present with the system anf if the same, it's supported by the target. If this process completes correctly, then the Runtime will be effectively installed (... an additional script is executed for this purpose).
Consequently, any IA runtime added to the project includes 2 scripts for each runtime installation;
- the first one for checking purpose (the name of the script begins with "checkxxx") and the second one, it's the one that effectively execute the runtime installation (the name of the script begins with "setupxxxx").
That said in your main script, you only need to conditionally execute the Runtime "check-script" that matches the target OS Platform ... no other actions are required to install the correct "Windows Installer 4.5 package" based on the target OS platform.
NOTE:
the Runtime "check-scripts" are Always added to the "Check Application Pre-Requisites" Code Region of the main script project.
Example;
Code: Select all
Set Variable ISWIN64 to FALSE
Get System Setting Windows in 64 bit Mode into ISWIN64
if Variable ISWIN64 Equals TRUE
Include Script: checkmsi45_x64
else
Include Script: checkmsi45
end
the same code snippet in IA Clipboard format.
Code: Select all
~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~End~
~{D2AF82CE-13C3-4BB8-A976-EC33821DAE1F}~
~Include Script~
~{2A4016AF-620F-4AC4-AC2F-94B4436C9158}~
~checkmsi45~
~Else~
~{B9A87721-19B9-4EE1-8A0F-7A1A3E511C97}~
~Include Script~
~{E32009B8-BEF1-4278-87A9-252356200BE5}~
~checkmsi45_x64~
~If~
~{5A2AD9E6-8884-420D-B866-C510F8A68AA6}~
~ISWIN64~
~0~
~TRUE~
~FALSE~
~Get System Settings~
~{5D565BEE-DC62-4BF3-8E39-B0FF0607ED16}~
~ISWIN64~
~65~
~Set Variable~
~{FCD260E7-869E-4B4F-9B3A-90C9D4878242}~
~ISWIN64$MYAH$MYAH$FALSE~
~FALSE~
Hope this helps you.
Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
Re: dot Net 4.5 runtines in X2 version?
Hi Francesco,
Thanks for the detail explanation. I made the suggested changes.
Thanks for the detail explanation. I made the suggested changes.
Edhy Rijo
Thom Child and Family Services
Thom Child and Family Services
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5361
- Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am
Re: dot Net 4.5 runtines in X2 version?

Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 145 guests