HI... I will try to keep this succinct as possible.
I have users who had installed a prior version of my application with WISE.
I have an installation which will update their system now using IA.
When I create shortcuts (hoping to duplicate what they already have for uninstall purposes) I end up with a shortcut.lnk in both the users desktop and the public desktop... so it appears I have 2 sets of the same desktop shortcuts.
Wise created the original USER desktop shortcuts and Installaware creates the PUBLIC ones.
I figure I have 2 options but for now want to examine #2.
1. Delete the user desktop shortcuts during the IA install.
or
2. Change the IA $desktopdir$ to the users desktop location. Right now IA pointing to the public desktop.
If I choose to do #2.... HOW DO I GET THE DESKTOPDIR variable to show the users desktop location??
The code I have currently have in the IA routine related to DESKTOPDIR are shown below (both copy text and IA copy)
I am still new to IA and could really use some help.
Thanks,
George
*** Code below
Get Folder Location System->Desktop Directory into DESKTOPDIR (get for ALL users is NOT checked)
.
.
Read Registry Key HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders\Desktop into DESKTOPDIR
.
.
Create Shortcut $DESKTOPDIR$\Hurrtrak EMPro to $TARGETDIR$\hurrtrak.exe
OR
~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~Get Folder Location~
~{CCEB9F18-4EF5-410E-B3FB-6DB2584B2AA6}~
~DESKTOPDIR~
~17~
~FALSE~
~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~Read Registry~
~{0874967A-C26E-4090-A5B3-849D1667A245}~
~DESKTOPDIR~
~1~
~Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders~
~Desktop~
~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~Create Shortcut~
~{A0B5DE4B-41B1-4A5D-8CA6-487859978166}~
~$TARGETDIR$\hurrtrak.exe|FALSE~
~Hurrtrak EMPro~
~$DESKTOPDIR$|FALSE~
~~
~~
~|FALSE~
~|FALSE~
~0|~
~0|~
Desktop Shortcut problem
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5361
- Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am
Re: Desktop Shortcut problem
Dear George,
it's not full clear to me why you want to proceed in that way.
Why do you want to keep the other WISE installation? if this gets uninstalled you don't need to replace/delete the existing shortcut.
In addition, you should not alter a shortcut created by another installer. This may cause an error with that installer if you try later to uninstall the app.
Regards
it's not full clear to me why you want to proceed in that way.
Why do you want to keep the other WISE installation? if this gets uninstalled you don't need to replace/delete the existing shortcut.
In addition, you should not alter a shortcut created by another installer. This may cause an error with that installer if you try later to uninstall the app.
Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
-
- Posts: 63
- Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 3:28 pm
Re: Desktop Shortcut problem
Thanks for the advice.
I still have the following question.
How do I get the $DESKTOPDIR$ variable to show the users desktop location not the PUBLIC one?
The code for this variable in my script was shown in my original email.
Thanks...
George
I still have the following question.
How do I get the $DESKTOPDIR$ variable to show the users desktop location not the PUBLIC one?
The code for this variable in my script was shown in my original email.
Thanks...
George
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5361
- Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am
Re: Desktop Shortcut problem
Dear George,
the DESKTOPDIR should be retrieved as follow;
With the above snippet; if the the installation is executed PER-MACHINE (ALL-USERS), the "Get Common Folder Location" will attempt to obtain the location of the pre-defined folder that is shared by all users of the target system (Get for All Users = TRUE). Otherwise, the location of the pre-defined folder for the current user will be acquired (Get for All Users = FALSE).
Hope this helps you.
Regards
the DESKTOPDIR should be retrieved as follow;
Code: Select all
if Variable ALLUSERS Equals TRUE
Get Common Folder Location System->Desktop Directory into DESKTOPDIR
else
Get Folder Location System->Desktop Directory into DESKTOPDIR
end
Code: Select all
~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~End~
~{D3E728CA-2945-4AD2-8BAE-4C3F78B56D86}~
~Get Folder Location~
~{FC0675C9-8D69-4AF5-835D-32AEBB6BA167}~
~DESKTOPDIR~
~17~
~FALSE~
~Set Variable~
~{21CE164A-2DB2-4210-89DE-695BDF554890}~
~SHORTCUTFOLDER~
~$SHORTCUTFILES$\$STARTMENU$~
~Else~
~{782C9E00-FB73-40A6-8E5C-94C7DD9A8D5E}~
~Get Folder Location~
~{3E0A1CD1-64CD-4404-8015-125FE0E67B1E}~
~DESKTOPDIR~
~17~
~TRUE~
~Set Variable~
~{CC19A143-B775-4C8B-B82F-67453D228546}~
~SHORTCUTFOLDER$MYAH$MYAH$FALSE~
~$SHORTCUTFILESALL$\$STARTMENU$~
~If~
~{ED9089CB-C5C8-425F-908A-EC38E615CA54}~
~ALLUSERS~
~0~
~TRUE~
~FALSE~
With the above snippet; if the the installation is executed PER-MACHINE (ALL-USERS), the "Get Common Folder Location" will attempt to obtain the location of the pre-defined folder that is shared by all users of the target system (Get for All Users = TRUE). Otherwise, the location of the pre-defined folder for the current user will be acquired (Get for All Users = FALSE).
Code: Select all
Create Shortcut $DESKTOPDIR$\MyApp to $TARGETDIR$\MyFile.Exe
Code: Select all
~InstallAware Clipboard Data~
~Create Shortcut~
~{C98D24AC-9867-48BD-9C96-1201FAAC985A}~
~$TARGETDIR$\MyFile.Exe|FALSE~
~MyApp~
~$DESKTOPDIR$|FALSE~
~My Test app~
~~
~|FALSE~
~|FALSE~
~|~
~0|~
Hope this helps you.
Regards
Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
-
- Posts: 63
- Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 3:28 pm
Re: Desktop Shortcut problem
I believe it will.
Thanks!
Thanks!
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 5361
- Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 4:28 am
Re: Desktop Shortcut problem

Francesco Toscano
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
InstallAware Software
White Papers (HowTos) - http://www.installaware.com/publication ... papers.htm
Publications - http://www.installaware.com/publications-review.htm
InstallAware Help -F1 anywhere in the InstallAware IDE
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 191 guests